A day at Kampong Buangkok

Windcharm

Nov 25, 2010
Please pardon me if the pictures are not as good as compared to others. I am not a pro and I do not have an DSLR. Hopefully one day I can upgrade to DSLR when my photography skill is better.

Finally, I got to visit the Kampong Buangkok, a last frontier I must say. It was not a prefect day for photography but my friend and I still went and I am glad that we did before the force of urbanization conquers this last remaining kampong in Singapore.

Walking into KG Buangkok brought me back to fond memories of my childhood, of how life was simple and community spirit was strong then. It was so much in contrast with modern day Singapore. We could learn a thing or two about improving our relationships with our neighbors.

I personally feel that KG Buangkok should be conserved for education. It will be a wonderful experience for the younger generation to visit this place and see what life was like before urbanization instead of reading about it from textbooks...

Way back to the past @ Kampong Buangkok

Kampong Buangkok Since 1954

Stepping into Kampong Buangkok seem like walking through a time tunnel that brings me back to the yesterday of Singapore.

Kampong house

A better built 2 storeys house in Kampong Buangkok. Perhaps, this belong to the head of the village.

Another Kampong House

Another typical kampong's house with galvanized roof and wooden fences.

Leading Me Home

An old lamp hanging on a tree at the entrance of the house to lead the villager home safely during night.

Last edited:
An Old Letter Box

A make-do swing

This is the playground for the kids and "chit chat" area of the villagers at the backyard of a house.

Reflection

Puddles of water can be seen on the uneven gravel/mud road after rain.

Little Stream

Water Droplets

Water droplets on a leaf after rain

Yellow Flower (Curacao)