Hi broChill, ya, bro?
It's the internet, sometimes the typewritten words get interpreted wrongly.
I'll tell you how some may have seen your first posting:
(1) Heart set on 550d ....... read as - since he gave no solid reasons, sounds like he's sold on the Canon brand already.
(2) According to dpreview, 550d IQ much better than K-x ....... read as - if he comes to this conclusion just from a preview, read together with (1), yup confirm sold on the Canon brand.
So many tell you to go buy Canon. And the internet being the internet, some words come out nicely, some more direct.
Your follow-up posts though now seem to show that you want to find out more and don't want to just jump on the Canon bandwagon. So, now you'll find your questions being answered rather than people telling you to go buy Canon.
Wow, those brands instill instant phobia as they are very expensive.Is there a less-than-$100-tripod thread?OK, here's more help. For tripods, have you tried here: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2870
Assuming you don't have top dollar to spend on Gitzos or Manfrottos, look at Sirui, Benro. Even cheaper, Velbon, Fancier (http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=663576&highlight=fancier+tripod). Need to decide on a head too -- 3way head or ballhead. Get the heads from the same brand if on a budget. If wanna spend on topend ballheads, common ones we hear on ClubSnap include Markins, Kangrinpoche, Really Right Stuff (RRS).
Since there is no cheap prime lens to start off with,i'll just stick to kit 1 or maybe even kit 2.More lens? Common suggestion is to go with the kit lens(es) 1st, and as you take more photos, you'll realise what shortcomings you feel (focal length? need wider aperture?), then decide what additional lens to add to your collection. If you wanna go for 50mm, there's the FA50mm f1.4 at $500 (if you can find stock now). That's what the savings from going with Pentax can get you.
SD card? Many use Kingston with no problem. Seems like a batch recently had some problems (but complaints have died down already). If not comfortable, get SanDisk. 8Mb Class 4 seems to be the sweetest price point now. If you intend to shoot lots of video, dunno whether Class 6 better. As of now, I have heard no complaints about the speed of Class 4.
Filters and/or hoods for your lens? Do a search in our Pentax subforum. You'll see people using one or the other or both. Read up on the pros and cons and decide what's best for yourself. But if you get a UV filter, don't get the cheapo ones. Even a brand like Hoya has different levels/models. Get at least the mid-range ones (HMC?)
Maintenance? Get a blower (Giottos, AF Swiss are the better brands mentioned). For further cleaning, do a search again. Some use isopropyl alcohol and microfibre cloth. Some tell you don't. Use the special cleaning paper, lenspen. Whatever, go read and figure out for yourself. But I swear, sometimes, too much reading can get confusing!
Storage? Some say get dry cabinet immediately (small 36litre one just over $100), others say if you use equipment regularly, just leaving it in a well ventilated place like your bookshelf is fine. See who you believe and how kiasu you are.
Batteries? Pick up the Sanyo eneloops and charger. If you want a better charger, get the Maha branded ones. A longer charge time means a cooler battery and ultimately a battery that has a longer lifespan.
Bags? Go into the camera shops with lots of variety and choose one that you like lor.
I type too much liao. Happy hunting.
Wow, those brands instill instant phobia as they are very expensive.Is there a less-than-$100-tripod thread?
Then the kit lens(es) will serve you fine as a start. Pentax kit lenses generally acknowledged to be good quality when compared to many other kit lenses. Have a look at night86mare's gallery.I am just a normal-holidaay-photographer who like to pics of frenz and family members in front of scenic background.
Then ventilate. Store where there is air circulation instead of cooped up in a bag.Dry cabinet,not sure yet.I start off with my asus backpack.
The canon 500D has many good qualities, so I dun think it is fair to blow it off. But pricing wise, you can never beat the value for moneyness of the k-x, and the IQ compared to 500D is because of the excellent kit lens that Pentax has managed to produced.
My friend actually bought the 500D kit, but didn't use his kit lens at all and bought a tamron 17-50mm f208. As this is a well renown lens, the picture quality is actually very sharp.
Internal features-wise coupled with a comparable quality lens, I totally agree 500D is a very credible entry-level with many plus, in some aspects better than Kx (resolution, video, continuous fps etc.). Otherwise, I wouldn't have been an initial fan...
But practically in terms of external build quality and usability, I simply LOVE my Kx!:bsmilie:
Look fwd to have you in the Rebellion. (I think we are more like the 300!!! And NOT THE MASS OF BLACK ARMY!!! We minority, exclusive, special...)
I thot 500D only 3.4fps while K-X is higher at 4.7fps?
I too am eager to mingle into the community....but so far i only hear fellow pentaxians calling me to quit since i am fanboy of a rival clan.
Hi
I think u r taking things a bit too personally.Nothing wrong to befanboy of eos and wanting to get a pentax.
The canon 500D has many good qualities, so I dun think it is fair to blow it off. But pricing wise, you can never beat the value for moneyness of the k-x, and the IQ compared to 500D is because of the excellent kit lens that Pentax has managed to produced.
My friend actually bought the 500D kit, but didn't use his kit lens at all and bought a tamron 17-50mm f208. As this is a well renown lens, the picture quality is actually very sharp.
TS, Love to welcome you to the Rebellion! I too was a fan of 500D. And I suspect many like us were fans of C & N simply due to lack of awareness of where Pentax currently stands. Hey, with all that advertisements running around for C & N versus none for Pentax, how to create mass awareness? But Pentaxians (I know at least one here...) don't pay for advertisements!! LOL
If you really must go below $100, check out Velbon and Fancier then. But I'd suggest that you give the $100+ to $200 tripods a try to and see how your cam feels on all of them. Take a look at the thread again, various brands mentioned, not just the expensive ones. Search for the other brands too in Clubsnap and read what people write.
Then the kit lens(es) will serve you fine as a start. Pentax kit lenses generally acknowledged to be good quality when compared to many other kit lenses. Have a look at night86mare's gallery.
Filter and hood? UV filter at best doesn't adversely affect image quality, at worst it will. It's for protection of the lens. Careful normal use, I believe filter not needed. Hood - cuts strays light so can improve image quality. Go ahead and use without hood first. Later, when you feel like trying, its only $20 or less.
Then ventilate. Store where there is air circulation instead of cooped up in a bag.
I am trying to find night86mare's gallery.
I never said it is wrong to be a fanboy of a certain brand/model. I am just saying if you are such a big fan of a particular camera, just go get it so you will not regret what could have been.
Everyone has different needs, be it emotionally, budgetary, IQ or in specific needs in features/functionality. What is right for me may not be right for you. I am a big fan of Pentax and have used Pentax film slr in the past. But now I am on Nikon system, just because it fit my set of needs, and it saves me money due to the large collection of nikon glass in my family.
Everyone has different needs. There is no single camera or system that is right for everyone.
This is a very good point. From all the feedback I heard from many friends using different systems, it seems Canon's kit lens is one of the weakest among the pack.
Yes ,i had seen them before.Some wonderful amazing pics.He has mastered in capturing the sunset.But i thought he is using a canon system.