50mm f1.4 vs 85mm f1.8

hi Guys,

Just a confusing question that came up while I was fiddling with my 50mm 1.8 last night in my room. My room is lit up with incandescent light ( prefers it that way ;) ).

I took a shoot at F1.8 and then for fun I stop down to F4. I realised that at F4 the picture seems brighter. I was using metric metering aiming at the same point for the two photos.
I went back to F1.8 and shoot again; it went back to being darker.

Is that normal?

Is it a lot brighter, say, more than half a stop? If so, then certainly doesn't sound right to me. I think the aperture blade probably didn't open fully when it's at f/1.8. Try playing with the aperture lever to see if the blade can open and cloose freely when you flick it.

You own one dude.:sweat: Can borrow for test drive? I'm kidding anyway bro.:)

Walao.. discon liao leh.. It's now a collector's item I'd like to keep it as mint as possible.. That's why I got the Sigma 24/1.8 to use instead. ;p

Is it a lot brighter, say, more than half a stop? If so, then certainly doesn't sound right to me. I think the aperture blade probably didn't open fully when it's at f/1.8. Try playing with the aperture lever to see if the blade can open and cloose freely when you flick it.

Okay I shall try again ... hope there's nothing wrong .. :confused:

shot on A or S?

shot in A mode ... could it be that the shutter adjusted itself ?

Okay I shall try again ... hope there's nothing wrong .. :confused:
shot in A mode ... could it be that the shutter adjusted itself ?

It definitely will adjust itself. But whether it adjusted itself to maintain the exposure value or not is another question. By right if the scene doesn't change it should maintain the same exposure. Maybe you can post the EXIF of both the shots and we can take a look if the metering is the same?

maybe you should compare with 50mm f1.4 vs 85mm f1.4
and not the 50mm f1.4 with 85mm f1.8 :think:

cos it difference lens..
bty.. 50mm f1.4 picture taking look soft compare 85mm f1.8 :)

Some Casual Snap shots featuring the Nikon 50mm f1.4 and the 85mm f1.8 which I got recently, haha! First of all I have to say I am not an expert, just to share some sample pics from both lens and the perspective and DOF both lens can give...

Nikon 50mm F1.4
http://bokehman.blogspot.com/search/label/Nikon 50mm F1.4

Nikon 85mm F1.8
http://bokehman.blogspot.com/search/label/Nikon 85mm f1.8

Happy Lunar New Year!