50D or 7D or wait for 60D?

save the $$..invest in lens better. If you sieve through the threads in landscape, there are very good pictures taken with much older bodies like 20D and 30D. It generally (but not restricted to) boils down to composition, settings and use of good filters.

Initially I had the same misconception that better bodies = better shots till i tried my friends 15-85mm lens that came along with his 7D. Using my 500D, same settings/focal length tested with my kit lens, his turned out visibly better. So you can imagine if its a L...

7D, 50D or 60D does have it advantages like faster fps, better noise control etc. see what you need then decide.

stick to your 500D unless there's something from the 50D or 7D or 60D that is not availiable in your 500D... and that something missing from your 500D is something that you really need

saw ur BnS post... hais..

in the end you still can't resist the BUY BUY BUY syndrome ah... haha..
after all the comments of everyone, you still decided to change then its really ur choice la..

it would be helpful to listen to Daredevil's advice.. but i guess you aren't keen on having an older model camera..

this reminds me of 苦口婆心. lol

:think:... why would you wanna shoot portraits and landscape with a 7D ?? I'll use it more for birds and motorsports which is what's its build for. I think the older 5D would fair better for your purpose as it is a full frame with much lower pixel density. More pleasing and smoother images with better bokeh for portraits and wider in landscape application.

Unless you are prepared to invest in quality prime glasses to resolve the 18mp hunger for details.. even so, the 5D2 would have been a better choice for your purpose.

As so often such questions pop up, the returning questions are always:
1. In what ways do you feel you have outgrown your camera?
2. In what ways does your current camera impede in helping you achieve what you want?
3. In what ways will the 'upgrade' camera improve or help in achieving what you want?

You get the above sorted out, you'll know if you need an upgrade ;)
What he said.

Don't "feel" it, know it for certain fact. If you are unable to define how the camera is limiting your photo-taking, then the limit is actually just yourself.

aiya people already put up his 500d for sale in BnS le..

think we keep saying oso no use la... :dunno::dunno:

aiya people already put up his 500d for sale in BnS le..

think we keep saying oso no use la... :dunno::dunno:

Got use...why no use...we can continue to boost our count mah.:cool:

Well bro... if you r thinking of the 7D all the time and u got the dough..I say you just go get it!!

Both 500D and 7D are excellent cameras. I can understand... it's the bug that won't get out of yr mind. That's why some people have so many cameras and lens.

Do what makes you happy...and enjoy yr new toy !;)

Got use...why no use...we can continue to boost our count mah.:cool:

OH i see.. thats why got so many people keep saying even though can close thread le..

lol

hmmm... maybe i should also start thinking of buying new camera... LOL.. NOT A CHANCE~!

i love my 500d..:bsmilie::bsmilie:

TS should buy the 7D and compare with the 500D. Don't sell off the 500D yet.

Then compare the performance with the same lens under same conditions.

There should be some difference or perhaps may start saying how come no difference in iq. haaa..

Hi there, I feel like self slapping myself after I've sold my 2month old 500D to 7D. Well like most of our fellow cser brother had mentioned, I didn't fully ultilized it's potential. Thinking upgrading to 7D would show me better image quality or performance. IQ I would say not much different from my 500D as for performance I would say yes, cause my purpose is for birding. I could shoot 8 pictures per second that would help me capture some fast B.I.F.Presently I m facing problem how to cordinate shutter,aperture,ISO,explosure and lighting to maximize the IQ of the picture i took. I feel shame that I couldn't answer most of the brother had ask earlier on. If possible I would had invest on a 100-400 L lens an sell away my Sigma 150-500 OS which I had proven the result. I believe you're much pro than me becasue you said that you've outgrown your cam. I hope you consider carefully before you commit don't repeat the same mistake as me. Frankly speaking bro don't waste money. Invest in Lens.:thumbsup:

Frankly the only reason to upgrade your body at this point would be to go full frame. There really is not another compelling reason to upgrade now. You're better off buying a nice lens or two to suit your needs. Since you say you do portraits, I'll focus more on lenses that would help you with your craft.

Here are a few upgrade ready lenses (as in not EF-S).

For zooms you really cant go wrong with two of canon's staple L zooms:
24-70L f/2.8 (most studio photographers who shoot canon, use this lens)
70-200L f/2.8 (you can opt for the IS version if you have the funds)

For primes (allows you more control over DOF so you can further explore photography):
canon 28 1.8 (good if you like street photography)
canon 50 1.4 (a good deal considering the price, but I'd opt for the Zeiss lens instead)
canon 85 1.8 (Samyang 85 1.4 is also REALLY good for the price)

If you really wanna part with your money:
35L (nice for wider portraits)
50L (Great for DOF artistic portraits)
50 1.4 Zeiss ZE
50 f/2 Makro Zeiss ZE (best 50 ever made BTW, but manual focus).

If you wanna get a good lens for EF-S (cannot use on FF body in future):
17-55 2.8 IS (pretty decent performance considering price, and nice FL for your crop body)

Hope this helps!

OH i see.. thats why got so many people keep saying even though can close thread le..

lol

hmmm... maybe i should also start thinking of buying new camera... LOL.. NOT A CHANCE~!

i love my 500d..:bsmilie::bsmilie:

My fren still using 350D leh...take better pics than me hor. I bring big big very ex one also no use. Now use small small el cheapo to take lousy pics so got excuse to give mah.

Seriously...I'm thinking of getting 5D mkII not sure good or not.:cool:

Hi, Different glasses show differently depending what you want, ie motion (moving subjects) and emotion (portrait). Bodies show hardware and software combinations to work with diffferent optics to capture photo quality. Therefore, it is advisable to spend more on glasses to get result.

My fren still using 350D leh...take better pics than me hor. I bring big big very ex one also no use. Now use small small el cheapo to take lousy pics so got excuse to give mah.

Seriously...I'm thinking of getting 5D mkII not sure good or not.:cool:

hmmm yup its good.. but then again, i'm not moving into FF la.. don't see a need... one of my best fren is using it.. the other one is using 7d.. i'm the kuku using 500... didn't even buy 550 when it came out the same time that i got my 500 around there..

haha.. but then again.. each one has different choices to make in life..

Is TS even reading? Hmm.

i think TS went to look for people to buy his 500D at a REALLY good price.. ($850)... busy busy looking... and also trying to look for a 7D... he must be doing his maths to try to minimize his losses...

Acct + $850 - $2200 (7D price) = loss of $1350...

with that $1350 can buy dunno 2 or 3 nice to use lens lor.. sell his 17-85 ($450)... total $450 + $1350 = $1800...

can buy a EFS 10-22 ($900) and EF 85 1.8 ($500) and nice tripod.. and nice bag..

If TS sees what you suggest I don think he's gonna sell his 500d cos looking at the way you calculate, so tempting if I were to consider selling my 500d lol.

$1800 can buy alot of different combination...

you want can also get EFS 17-55 and a 30mm sigma..

or a few primes..

or a 70-200...

too many choices..

but instead TS wants to sell his 500d and make a loss of $1350

Haha if you say somemore I don think he'll ever post here again.