400D Underexposure problem

I'm also having this problem.

However before sending it in i tried metering exposure on a white A4 paper. when the EV is set to 0 (middle) the histogram shows peak to the left.

After comparing a few results i pushed the exposure to +1/2 and the peak is in the middle still shooting this white paper.

I suppose this corrects the under exposure problem without sending it to the service center.

Please correct me if i'm wrong.

it wouldnt underexpose, if you used it properly. you have a histogram, learn how to use it and read it.
its also the reason why these cameras come with a manual mode...
underexposure is not better than overexposure. usggest you read this article to learn a bit more..
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/expose-right.shtml

the key part with dslr photog, is to try not to blow your highlights because those are irrecoverable.

i was shooting this a4 white paper on a tripod . under uniform lighting. but the histogram peak was skewed to the left. when my EV was set to 0 in P mode. This should mean its the metering was not correct issnt it?

eh i just simply use my eyes to judge at the images downloaded from the camera straight.
esp for white objects, they will kinda look grey.

if it's under warranty just bring down to canon svc center lor to set ya heart at ease?
of course it wouldnt make sense if u can't even figure out what's the problem with ya 400d!

it's like looking for fish bones from an egg.

:angel:

mine's looks kinda red or orangy and not grey.is this normal? or did i forgot my red filter?

juz came back from the service centre. did a normal shot and exposure seems to be good and histogram tells everything. else my past pics mostly all are left shift.

was rather shocked when i received back my cam, without the camera cap!

i was stunned and said : " i brough it in with the cap and its not here! how long has it been exposed like that?! "

he say juz open up oni, and quickly run in to find the cap. abit sian by then lo. how long they open it liao, how much dust could have entered? if got dust problem i refuse to pay for the next service liao. :(

eh i just simply use my eyes to judge at the images downloaded from the camera straight.
esp for white objects, they will kinda look grey.

if it's under warranty just bring down to canon svc center lor to set ya heart at ease?
of course it wouldnt make sense if u can't even figure out what's the problem with ya 400d!

it's like looking for fish bones from an egg.

:angel:

White objects will look grey because camera metering exposes for 18% grey by default (at the 0-point of the exposure meter). This is why when you shoot white objects, you should overexpose by approximately a stop, while when shooting black objects, one should underexpose by about a stop too.

he say juz open up oni, and quickly run in to find the cap. abit sian by then lo. how long they open it liao, how much dust could have entered? if got dust problem i refuse to pay for the next service liao. :(

If I were you, I would insist on FREE cleaning of sensor, focus screen and viewfinder on the spot. One should learn how to take advantage of the situation when it presents itself. :bsmilie:

yes... i think u shd request all those.

hey my new f2.8 17-55mm
studyroomv2.jpg

too much iso? taken at 9.15pm

it wouldnt underexpose, if you used it properly. you have a histogram, learn how to use it and read it.
its also the reason why these cameras come with a manual mode...
underexposure is not better than overexposure. usggest you read this article to learn a bit more..
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/expose-right.shtml

the key part with dslr photog, is to try not to blow your highlights because those are irrecoverable.

hi i've read through this. Just one question will this mean there will be alot of post processing if i followed the Expose to Right way of capturing image?

WAH!!! i was quoted 120 for correcting the underexpose problem.. so expensive.. wahaha..

ya lor.. so expensive.. i hear already my heart dropped..

i was just thinking of sending mine in! oh dear... :(

just got mine back from Canon - Err 99 and they changed my whole shutter unit ...

now when covering my cousin's wedding in Malaysia...a fellow CSer from KL who is friend of my cous commented that my focusing is now out....possible?

Hmmm.. have a question here.. I was quoted $120 (as mentioned above) when i sent in my cam for correcting of the underexpose problem.. but i received a sms from canon ytd stating that the charges will be $42.80.. so which one is it? or is it to add both together?

120 was just a quote.
42bucks is the actual.
=D cheers!

Thanks alot Junye.. great help

120 was just a quote.
42bucks is the actual.
=D cheers!

hmm....mine is corrected for free, despite out of warranty. I sent in my lenses (within warranty) for calibration then asked them to see whether can fix the exposure problem of my 400D.

In the end received the sms = free :thumbsup:. just collected my items today from canon.

Send in my 400D yesterday togeter with 430EX (sometimes doesn't fire) together with my grey 17-85. Wonder if they'll charge me for anything. the 400d was bought dec 3rd last year and the 430ex march this year.

Planning to get a 400d next week, but lots of considerations to be done after reading this thread. Does it mean that i have to pre set the camera every time i want to take a picture?This can be exhaustive.Anyway, i am a total newbie to DSLRs. Any advice are welcome..thanks.