300D vs D70

Haha, sfhuang, don't TEMPT me!!!! anyway, i tried my 12-24DX on my lowly F55 just this morning...

Still useable for me from 18-24!!! :blah: hehe... that means, even if nikon goes FF on my next body, no problems, still useable within 18-24 range.... and FOR ME, that is wideangle already, don't need anything less than that!!

Watcher, i didn't have time to go and read the website about the CF card.... once I opened the page, saw so many words, i turn off my comp already!! ;p

I didn't know that the ultra II outperformed the lexar by so much..... hmmm... guess I should get that soon. But it is surprising that WA lost out. but well, the ultra II is a 60X card right? Guess that explains it.

Comparing the figures between the 300D and D70, I would say that the 300D stands no ground here at all.

The D70 is 2-3X faster, WA or no WA. So, that means that shooting in RAW for the D70 is not so unrealistic as loupgarou makes it out to be. But it is unrealistic for the 300D...... the wait time is definitely too long if you use RAW primarily.... haha... ;p

If the D70 wait time per burst before shooting again is 3s, that makes the wait time with the 300D 9 seconds?

Not sure about the above fact, cos I have never handled the 300D before. maybe someone can try it out?

I think I will go and try on Uncle Tom's D60 and Jer76 10D.... hehe... everytime I go out with them to shoot, I am the only Nikonian... but haha, all we care about is..... taking pictures..... ;)

When it comes to writing speed, Nikon is the lead between the two camps. Even when it comes to pro bodies like the 1D and 1Ds looses out using the Sandisk Ultra II; check it yourself.

RAW has never been unrealistic at all; those comments are subjective and quite biased and prejudiced, IMO, to say the least, even after 2100 gave a real life example. Same buffer size between the two but 3x the speed makes it rather practical, in fact.

Even using an obsoleted (defined as no longer on sale in the general market) Transcend 30x is 2x of the latest SanDisk Ultra II when used on a D70 vs the other one. Even the same Transcend card writes faster on the D70 than on 1D! Quoted often is the buffer size, but almost never mentioned is the write speed when the D70 (Nikon DSLR in general) is put down... :sweat:

sfhuang said:
yep. Unless Nikon finally wakes up its idea and comes out with a Nikon AFS ED 12-24mmD f/4.

Why a need so? 17mm not wide enough ? :dunno:

Why not wait for 330D then compare wif D70? :D

----------
"We are part of the world we seek to understand, and our imperfect understanding plays an important role in shaping the events in which we participate."

indeed, write speed of the CF card is better with D70. we already know the D70 is faster in terms of write speed , start up time, electronic shutter and fps .

ok: wait time for 300D for RAW burst mode is bad.
goes like this:
just a tempo count.
4 shots, 3 wait, 1 shot, 4 wait , 1 shot, 5 wait, 1 shot, 10 wait, 1 shot, 13 wait, 1 shot, 13 wait, 1 shot....

concuss said:
If the D70 wait time per burst before shooting again is 3s, that makes the wait time with the 300D 9 seconds?

Alright, lets not talk about paper specs and timings. Lets talk about feel. I shoot D70 raw burst 4 frames is significantly faster than i burst 4 jpg 5MP frames in Oly C5050. In terms of the waiting time for blinking light to go off, that is. :bsmilie: To give you another idea, it is as fast as the Oly burst 4 frames in jpg but in 2MP (1600x1200) mode. Both Oly and D70 are 3fps.

Using Ultra II.

Watcher said:
RAW has never been unrealistic at all; those comments are subjective and quite biased and prejudiced, IMO, to say the least, even after 2100 gave a real life example.

:

I guess i need a faster computer (AMD PR 2200 here with 512MB RAM, 120GB 7krpm/8MB cache HDD). :bsmilie: It is not a rosy picture when you need to give results within 2 days after the event and you have to shift through 1k NEFs. 1k JPG unedited and 180 passable results to be printed in 2 days (need to crop, sharpen, change res to web and another set to print) already not funny. :sweat: Or my skills not that good for bursting.... :bsmilie:

it can be quite a headache to have lots of pics to process ;p

I remember talking to a canon pro who said he needs to process 12k pics.... but I forgot whether it's per day or per month ;p

mpenza said:
it can be quite a headache to have lots of pics to process ;p

I remember talking to a canon pro who said he needs to process 12k pics.... but I forgot whether it's per day or per month ;p
Of coz there are situations in which can burst lar, there is some degree of truth in this. Say for track and field, you wanna shoot the gal which you are infatuated with and NOTHING MUZ GO WRONG. :bsmilie: You wanna capture her jumping the hurdles. But say for fast-paced events, weddings in which a large number of frames is usually the norm, burst in NEF song song like there is no tomorrow not very recommended man... :confused:

12k cannot be 1 day lar. Work for 12hrs continuous, 3 second 1 shot meh... :D

no lah. I meant processing on non-shooting days ;p he works as a wedding photographer (also has a studio) and will be out in the field for almost the whole day. I invited him to Clubsnap but he said his time with computer is all spent on processing pics.

Right now the only serious problem that is possible to bug me is moire. So far they are not in any of the pics which i have shot either on tests or real pictures (either for sale or for hobby). Nikon seems to have acknowledged it after i looked at a response on dpreview, hopefully there is a fix or solution. Else LL lor.....post process and never print large sizes. I am only affected in extreme cases like a person wearing a checkered shirt with very fine patterns and the thing moires, else you tell me to see what windows a/c compressor grille has moire or the characters on a book got moire i also usually won't be affected. I have this 'problem', after playing with hobbies like hifi, cars, i tend to judge the whole thing as a whole and not dissect each and every part of it and scrutinize. This way, there is more enjoyment. Things cannot be perfect lar, the holy grail chase is pretty impossible.

mpenza said:
no lah. I meant processing on non-shooting days ;p he works as a wedding photographer (also has a studio) and will be out in the field for almost the whole day. I invited him to Clubsnap but he said his time with computer is all spent on processing pics.

Yea, tell me about it. The hobby is suppose to be fun..... Opening a studio or even trying to earn money as a freelancer will be a different experience. So sometimes, i also chill a bit and just enjoy shooting and viewing on the PC, and forget about all the technicalities like slight overexposure or a bit blur due to shake etc.... The last real shoot i enjoyed was when i was in Indonesia shooting fireworks and firecrackers and stuff during CNY, not weddings or stuff.