2MP Digital Camera - Wat to buy? (Canon, Nikon or Olympus)

The price for 602z is $10xx in SG. I'm not too sure of the 730, but it looks great, only that it uses SM as a storage.

I would choose the 602z cos it looks better and more manual features although yes 6x zoom.

I kinda like the pro-feel. 730 is not too bad a buy also.

The 5mp cams are really good should u be able to afford it. Otherwise 602 or 730 would do just as well.

yes yes......I always believe that......althought at times, i must admit that camera may limit u too. haha.....depends on individual i guess......if not why pple want to upgrade?ahah

730....should be less than $800 cos end of 2002 .....it was $8++ for the camera and a 128 SM i think.

602 is around $1080 with GST ...someone bought at this price in jan i guess.

both can use add on filters/ lens

forgot if c730 got hot shoe...

hope wont offend digi lor
hehe actually err if u want sharp and good colors but not rich as canon one lor
get a Fuji u wont regret it

see my fuji album below
i got a fuji lor
but i like Canon colors too bad lor in between now too
maybe getting a Canon S Series lor

if u want picture oke i look for some samples for u to see
pls take note this album is not mines lor i just look for referenace ehhe as i also looking for a new cam too
but i also suggest get 602z lor
if u dont mind the size and price tag arond 1K
pls take note too some album i tink they use USM lor
or some r not steady

my Fuji 2800z sample
http://www.pbase.com/pker88

Fuji 602z sample
http://www.pbase.com/coyote2/root
http://www.pbase.com/seth
http://www.pbase.com/tytan1979/hsc
http://www.pbase.com/byktan/root

A40
http://www.pbase.com/djchris/root
http://www.pbase.com/elora_v/root
http://www.pbase.com/malkw/canon_a40

Canon S30
http://www.pbase.com/darkmoon/root
http://www.pbase.com/lanxx/root

Canon S45
http://pbase.com/x_cal1bur
http://www.pbase.com/dougj/singapore
http://www.pbase.com/ykeen

Enjoy!! ehhe

actually to tell u the truth, presently, with price and quality in consideration, the olympus c730 seems to be the best choice... some more, it has 10X optical zoom and can add on lens/filters too... anyone has any idea why so many people are selling away this cams now?

can add lens some more... looks quite ok to me...
camera size is not that important to me as long as it work well...
will carry the camera in a bag anyway, so not that impt a consideration...

sure, the fuji looks marvellous. i love the 602Z too, but well, my wallet can't take the strain cos' thinking of going to China, probably Shanghai for my hols in 2 months' time. Will be bringing the camera along too to take some pics...

will consider the S30 as well, but no idea how much the lens adapter will cost in Singapore...

PKer88, u got any albums to show for the Olympus c730UZ?

hmm c730 i also dunno why lot of ppls it selling it lor
but color abit neutual lor
and OS is not soo user frendly
as compare to Fuji or Canon
which i find it not bad the functions menu

oke here is one for u
heee
the S30 adaptor i think need to order from US lor
i also intersted but should be exp

http://www.pbase.com/mystic80
C730 sample

One flaw... S730 uses SM/XD memory storage. Whereas the 602z uses CF.

CF in the long run is more reusable as you upgrade your cameras.

espn, actually there is an card adapter for the c730Uz which can use CF cards, rite?

No offence, PKer88. Although the colour is a bit neutral for the Olympus, but it looks real ok to me... Of course, fuji is the best choice so far, but cost wise, it is a major disadvantage. it's at least 200 bucks more than the olympus...
as for the Canon S30, expensive adapter which takes long time to come to Singapore, BIG minus point, u know... Sigh, it's actually a close 2nd choice to the Olympus, now relegated to 3rd...

but no hurry lah, will only be buying the cam after my exams. So will only decide in 6 weeks' time. maybe if the fuji drop by about 200 bucks then, I would buy that model... Well ;) it's worth a big FAT HOPE rite?

no offence taken pker88^_^

i like canon.........but if i were to upgrade to prosumer...i won't choose canon if i got 2k to spare^^|hahaa...u know.

fuji 602 is a gd choice for prosumer la...i think.

s30 cannot use add on filter all these....u still consider s30????

c730....i also dunno why pple sell.........maybe u should ask those who sell? may be they are upgrading? i know of many who buy consumer camera...have the tendency of upgrading in even less than 1 month after they buy their camera. so....hahaha...maybe they need more control?

do remember....ur filters / lens/ adaptor / batt / memory cards add up will cost up to few hundreds..........even over the price of ur camera is possible!

Ah? Got such an adapter meh? SM -> CF?

Where to find ?

actually digi... there is one available but only sold in US. U can get the link on 1st page of this thread...

oh espn, u can go check the Olympus website for the model c730uz, under optional accessories, there is something called a CF card adapter. Don't know whether that means what it means... but think so lor...

Is the Olympus c730uz a good buy, afterall the colours aren't that vibrant, u know... Love the Fuji F602Z, but not its price!!!!

i know there are adaptors made for v3.....S series...even nikon 775/885 all these.......but...er.....hahah.....dunno how to say. up to u^_^

ya lor loks like fuji wins the day in the end
anyway march got a PCshow maybe got new models
hehee

for me why i chose s30 is the small and got manual functions lor
the lens/fiters option to add is still fine if dont have it lor
as i need ed a portable cam
hehe

if got $$ i will get FUji high end heee
hoping got 603z soon?
hehe
wth 6MP hahaaaa woth 10 optical
and the same size as 602z?
heeeee:cool:

Originally posted by Chokky

Is the Olympus c730uz a good buy, afterall the colours aren't that vibrant, u know... Love the Fuji F602Z, but not its price!!!!

It's not vibrant but it has realistic color....some DCs pix looks nice and vibrant cos the color satuaration is a tad high than what's natural.

yup, the colour sure looks real and realistic. Just not that vibrant... But was quite pissed by the quotations from Cathay and AP... Their offer for the Olympus c730uz was 830 w/o GST and 1100 for the Fuji F602Z w/GST. Tat's so expensive as compared to the price I see people getting around here... Actually, can these prices be bargained further? Or is it becos' I'm using an NUS medicine account so they "qiao1" me...

but will definitely wait for the March PC show first. My exams only end after 3rd week in March. Hopefully, I won't miss it... Hands are itching so badly to play around with a camera... thanks for ur info, PKer88

I'm also looking for a mid-range 3MP Camera. After reading numerous reviews of various 3MPs camera, still can't make up my mind. Shitz... :(

S45 is too ex, S30 is a 2 yr old technology, kinda sianz to get such an old model. V3 indoor shots is very weak, Olympus movie mode got no audio. ARghzzz!!! damn it! so hard to find a good 3MP DC.

MY main primary concern is to be able to take clear sharp pic WITHOUT the use of tripod. My friend's Sony P71 can do it. But not keen on Sony DC.

Seriously friend.
You want green and want cheap, where to get?
Just settle for something less and make do with it.
If you want the best, get a DSLR.
btw, A40 CAN TAKE SHARP PICTURES.

i do agree with Giant..
as i've read all about 2MP (not 3MP)..
a40 is the best solution..

as i'm looking for A40 too..
good luck in hunting your dream camera...
and remember..."yeah, money talks"

Originally posted by Chokky
yup, the colour sure looks real and realistic. Just not that vibrant... But was quite pissed by the quotations from Cathay and AP... Their offer for the Olympus c730uz was 830 w/o GST and 1100 for the Fuji F602Z w/GST. Tat's so expensive as compared to the price I see people getting around here... Actually, can these prices be bargained further? Or is it becos' I'm using an NUS medicine account so they "qiao1" me...

but will definitely wait for the March PC show first. My exams only end after 3rd week in March. Hopefully, I won't miss it... Hands are itching so badly to play around with a camera... thanks for ur info, PKer88

hello there.. im selling my C730 cos i needa upgrade. my cam is jus 2 mths + old.
if u interested jus pm me. btw the one pker88 show u is my gallery. i buy C730 last time cos i wanna know if i will still be interested to go into more deeper in photography. in the end... im hooked to it. ;)
thanks to BS venturis digiET djchis...etc for their Buy Buy Buy motto...:D

hahahha........u are welcome! if i can.....i will buy buy buy ......hahaha.......

Hi Chokky

wanna consider a second hand Oly 2100?

if u are keen you could PM me for negotiations

I am upgrading so wont need this cam anymore.