2008 Formula 1 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix

at around 1pm, i was at Raffles Hotel changing to my marshal overall. there was a ING party going on there. overheard that Alonso couldn't make it because he is crying in his room because of his screwed qualifying. only Piquet turned up.
Piquet was there to enjoy because later Flavio wanted him to crash his car to help Alonso :)

Whichever way it is.......true or not........it actually help Hamilton gain more points and Massa just ran out of luck on the fuel nozzle.

Crashing is ok but we never know what goes hehind close doors. I think all this drivers are very professional with what they do.

I don't think crashing a $1,000,000 F1 car will help Alonso win this year championship..........only just to gain more recognition as being the first team and F1 driver to win a GP night race.

Latest NEWS
Rossi wants F1 test as title reward
http://en.f1-live.com/f1/en/headlines/news/detail/080929130114.shtml

after clinching 6 MotoGP titles plus another 125cc & 250cc titles (Total 8 titles)
time for Rossi head into Ferrari seat ;p

Every 2 years or so we keep hearing this news from Rossi wanting to try for F1 and as always...good to humor him but he is great on two wheels and should stick to it. If he was that good he would have been taken up a few years back. Being Italian does not always mean you get to drive for an Italian car brand. Especially one who wants to get the best to do so. Rossi was not it. But as a reward to drive for fun is fine. Good to know that this time around he admit is is abit over hill to be changing race career.

I rather keep seeing him tear the track on two wheels....the Italian Monkey God look-alike heheh...

i wouldnt mind if in his excitement he wave black flag at pork slice :sweatsm:

Yeah I tot Canew was going to do that! How disappointing! :bsmilie:

Every 2 years or so we keep hearing this news from Rossi wanting to try for F1 and as always...good to humor him but he is great on two wheels and should stick to it. If he was that good he would have been taken up a few years back. Being Italian does not always mean you get to drive for an Italian car brand. Especially one who wants to get the best to do so. Rossi was not it. But as a reward to drive for fun is fine. Good to know that this time around he admit is is abit over hill to be changing race career.

I rather keep seeing him tear the track on two wheels....the Italian Monkey God look-alike heheh...

Ya congrats to Rossi. World Champ once again but i prefer to see him swinging his butt from left to right on his bike.

There is a reason on Williams beat the McLaren on this race.

Pork Slice have to maintain a healthy engine for the next 2 races.....Shanghai and Japan.

Second reason is Massa is out of point contention, so a healthy 6 points is good enough. If he pushes the car to the limit on a street circuit which demands a lot from the driver and the car for the additional 2 points is definately not worth it at all......as he may just crash like what happened to Kimi.

Yeah that is prob the reason but I also prefer to give Williams some credit. Afterall, they did managed to get Nico infront of Hamilton. ;)

The activation lights for pitting used by Ferrari screwed up again. Noticed that after F. Massa's incident, the lollipop was used again?

Congratulations to F. Alonso.

BTW, I was the green flag bearer at Turn 1 that re-started the race after the first SC session. :D My trainer from Australia told me that I have just re-started a F1 race!

Think its better for Ferrari to go back to lollipop la. They are changing something that worked for years and even to perfection under Jean Todt years.

Congrats bro. Wished I've applied for the track marshal position. Tot that I will go for the race, so din apply.

Ya congrats to Rossi. World Champ once again but i prefer to see him swinging his butt from left to right on his bike.

His size and built is all about doing well on a motorbike lah...he just don't have the built for F1 unless he bulk up. Even in the F1 you see the smaller built don;t always do well compared to the large size drivers. Shummi.... case in point.

He should keep building on his legacy. Like Shummi...win so many Championship that he will be immortalized and hard to beat for years to come.

He itchy backside lah heheheh

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/rtrs/20080930/tsp-motor-racing-ferrari-montezemolo-81ea673.html

MILAN, Sept 30 - Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo has poured scorn on Sunday's Singapore Grand Prix, saying the "circus" track and the use of the safety car had been humiliating for Formula One.

Formula One's first night race drew rave reviews from participants and onlookers, including the sport's delighted supremo Bernie Ecclestone, but was one to forget for the Italian team.
Brazilian title contender Felipe Massa had his race ruined by a bungled pit stop while faltering world champion Kimi Raikkonen crashed near the end.
"When we race on tracks which should be used for the circus, anything can happen including the spectacle of the Safety Car," Montezemolo was quoted as saying in Tuesday's Gazzetta dello Sport newspaper.
"All this is humiliating for F1 and it is an aspect I want to talk about with the other teams in the next few weeks."
Singapore saw two safety car interventions, the first of which turned the race upside down and contributed to Spaniard Fernando Alonso's unexpected victory for Renault.
Montezemolo, appointed this month as the first chairman of the Formula One Teams Association, said before the race that street circuits and the lack of overtaking opportunities were not the right way forward for the sport.
Ferrari's failure to score any points in Singapore meant McLaren's Lewis Hamilton, third behind winner Fernando Alonso, extended his championship lead over Massa to seven points with three races left.
Finn Raikkonen is out of contention but Montezemolo still sounded confident.
"We have the best Ferrari, Massa is the best. I expect... Raikkonen to show he is world champion in the remaining races, to help Massa, to race for the good of the team and to finish in front of the McLarens," he said.
The team president also backed the mechanics who gave Massa the green light during a pit stop despite the fuel hose still being attached to the car as he sped away.
"We have extraordinary mechanics who in other occasions have swung results our way. We must stay close to each other because Ferrari are always world champions and are still in the running to win," Montezemolo added.

Wow..is that guy sore or what?

That loser was just thinking aloud with his arse because none of his cars and drivers got a single point from the race. Imagine if it was a Ferrari 1/2 finish....... he just couldn't reconcile with the fact that someone in his team screwed up big time on Sunday night.

Yeah although I'm a Ferrari fan, he is a sore loser! But really, its hard to take, even for a Ferrari fan. He is the boss so...

Ferrari scoring no pts and losing the constructors lead to arch rival McLaren, very hard to swallow. On Sun night, I was really really angry.

But what to do, events like this can't predict, esp the crash. And Ferrari wanna act clever, switched to the auto lights, then switched back to manuel mode is asking for trouble. Once a trigger happy mech fires the green button in the heat of excitement and adrenline, its all over.

As for Kimi, its a race incident. He should know the kerbs are high and yet he choose to ride over them causing his tyres to lose grip. Massa is really unlucky this season. He is actually pulling away on this circus track from the rest of the pack before the crash. If there is no crash, Massa could easily win with a huge lead to spare.

Yeah although I'm a Ferrari fan, he is a sore loser! But really, its hard to take, even for a Ferrari fan. He is the boss so...

Ferrari scoring no pts and losing the constructors lead to arch rival McLaren, very hard to swallow. On Sun night, I was really really angry.

But what to do, events like this can't predict, esp the crash. And Ferrari wanna act clever, switched to the auto lights, then switched back to manuel mode is asking for trouble. Once a trigger happy mech fires the green button in the heat of excitement and adrenline, its all over.

As for Kimi, its a race incident. He should know the kerbs are high and yet he choose to ride over them causing his tyres to lose grip. Massa is really unlucky this season. He is actually pulling away on this circus track from the rest of the pack before the crash. If there is no crash, Massa could easily win with a huge lead to spare.

In a super tight street circuit like that and no accident? Plus it's a very new track to all drivers. Plus it's a night circuit.

Anything that can happend....happend! It's what made the racing more exciting to watch. No one wants to watch F1 carsgo round and round. It has to have some drama to it.

We are all human and bound to make mistakes.....which is why every single race in any circuit around th world has a different feel.

Ferrari boss has too much pride to swallow.......cannot accept failure......which after all we are all human. Calling the Singapore GP track a circus track is an insult. He should get his "CIRCUS ACT" ready.

I will not be wearing red next year!

In a super tight street circuit like that and no accident? Plus it's a very new track to all drivers. Plus it's a night circuit.

Anything that can happend....happend! It's what made the racing more exciting to watch. No one wants to watch F1 carsgo round and round. It has to have some drama to it.

We are all human and bound to make mistakes.....which is why every single race in any circuit around th world has a different feel.

Ferrari boss has too much pride to swallow.......cannot accept failure......which after all we are all human. Calling the Singapore GP track a circus track is an insult. He should get his "CIRCUS ACT" ready.

What no accident? I'm sure eveyone was expecting a crash. I even guranteed my friend that he will see a crash before race start.

About Ferrari's boss....

Thats why he failed to notice that Massa is getting away till the crash. His cars are performing well on this circus track till his circus pit crew took over. If his circus pit crew did not screw up, he will sing a different tune. I tot Massa should the be one furious about it but he seems cool. I really think Ferrari's pit crew is a circus act these days. Told my friend about the 'forget to pump fuel' incident and he dun believe me.

About him calling SGGP a circus track, I think one should not take it too personally. That guy is angry and a sore loser, so tend to say dumb stuff. Afterall, no circuit is perfect and gets critizied, even Monoco. Ferrari boss dun like street circuits according to reports. So, dun expect him to say nice things.

Want to hear nice stuff, listen to Ron Dennis or Frank Williams lor. ;) What is impt is Bernie likes it can liao and he thinks SGGP is 1 of F1's crown jewel.

i kind of want to know
WHY would Messa drive ALL the way to the end of the pit before stopping
1) I am sure he can see the huge 20feet long gas line hanging from his side via his side view mirrors and
2) his team would have radioed him that he should stop

Alot of time was lost when the crew had to run all the way down to him .. a good 15 - 20 seconds

another question about strategy
why did they get two F1 cars to pit at the same time? I thought that was a really bad strategy . Its slowing the 2nd car down.

i kind of want to know
WHY would Messa drive ALL the way to the end of the pit before stopping
1) I am sure he can see the huge 20feet long gas line hanging from his side via his side view mirrors and
2) his team would have radioed him that he should stop

Alot of time was lost when the crew had to run all the way down to him .. a good 15 - 20 seconds

another question about strategy
why did they get two F1 cars to pit at the same time? I thought that was a really bad strategy . Its slowing the 2nd car down.

I think i can answer the first question. Massa simply can't stop in anywhere in the middle probably cars are still coming into their respective pit lanes, he will be impeding them.