1D Mk IV as a portrait camera?

chengpenguin said:
That's why I never attend those free shooting events liao. Waste time, waste life and waste shutter count.
Why shoot for free when you can get paid?

Unfortunately, I pay to shoot leh. The 5D2 has 4-5 fps with gripe. Seriously, I don't think 6 fps makes that much diff. While I am not trigger happy, the eztra 4fps do come in useful.

5D3 is out of the picture as I consider 2 to 3 half-flickr. My remaining question is are the colour and contrast obvious improvements over 5D2, in relation to gapless AA filter and pitch size and what you have?

Double post

Unfortunately, I pay to shoot leh. The 5D2 has 4-5 fps with gripe. Seriously, I don't think 6 fps makes that much diff. While I am not trigger happy, the eztra 4fps do come in useful.

LOL I never knew 5D2 has increased FPS with battery grip... Can elaborate?

Since u hv both cameras, does the added cropped factor disadvantaged any of ur lenses? For example, a lens that may give u a certain IQ lost that magic when cropped? I am thinking subject isolation n bokeh.

Also other than the fps, does 1D4 record image faster than 5D3 since it has 2 digic and smaller mirror to flap. I would also think 1D4 has a better metering system?

I don't think its a "disadvantage" to any lens, why should it?
Most of the CA and distortion, vignetting occurs on the edges and the edges are usually not as sharp as the centre.

If just comparing FF vs APSH, I think its just a question of getting used to it. They ARE different. You DO have to work at different distances with the either cam. Bokeh and subject isolation, personally not much difference.

If speed is what you are looking for, then there's no alternative but to get a 1D series. They are built for speed.
Metering system, I haven't had the chance to really compare to two cams yet.

However you should be mindful that the 5D3's digic5 chip does give subjectively better colors with EF lenses because it IS built to correct these lens errors.

U dun need high fps to shoot portraits right?

Good to have when subject is in motion or interacting with objects in motion. Taking Mike S image as an illustration. In situations like these, when is the right moment? Would it be better to squeeze at the appropriate time and capture a sequence then select the better moment?

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8282/7745531688_e94e4f9d05_b.jpg

LOL I never knew 5D2 has increased FPS with battery grip... Can elaborate?

My bad. Somehow it gives me the impression. Maybe the dual battery has more juice.

Good to have when subject is in motion or interacting with objects in motion. Taking Mike S image as an illustration. In situations like these, when is the right moment? Would it be better to squeeze at the appropriate time and capture a sequence then select the better moment?

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8282/7745531688_e94e4f9d05_b.jpg

A lot of tries. Burst mode may help, and I think 5D3's 6FPS is sufficient.

Do consider the light source when it comes to high-speed burst. Are you using a speedlite that allows HSS, or are you using studio strobes?

Strobes doesn't support HSS, your X-sync may not be high enough to freeze the motion and water. If you are using a speedlite, it may not be able to catch up with high-speed burst. For a 580EXII in a 1D4, you really need to dial down the power to 1/32 or lower to keep it going, and it will still have a miss or two, like 8 out of 10 frames have the flash fired. Also, at 1/32, you may not have sufficient power for your shot, you may need multiple speedlites to do gang lighting, which can be costly.

The 10FPS of 1D4 is really crucial to capture moments where you may not be able to replicate again (ie, sports matches). If you are referring to the above reference shot by Mike S, it can be replicated and you are shooting in a controlled environment. Again, I think 6FPS is sufficient for this.

However you should be mindful that the 5D3's digic5 chip does give subjectively better colors with EF lenses because it IS built to correct these lens errors.

OK thanks. Noted on the FL and working distance difference. Seems like the Digic 5+ does impact on the IQ. Let me look through some images and see if they are noticeable to the eye.

The 10FPS of 1D4 is really crucial to capture moments where you may not be able to replicate again (ie, sports matches). If you are referring to the above reference shot by Mike S, it can be replicated and you are shooting in a controlled environment. Again, I think 6FPS is sufficient for this.

Thanks for your expert analysis and view. While the above image can be replicated, I am using it as an illustration of a possible real life situation that cannot be replicated.

Seems like a lot favour the 5D3 to the 1D4. I will re-look into the 5D3. Thanks all for your time.

Thanks for your expert analysis and view. While the above image can be replicated, I am using it as an illustration of a possible real life situation that cannot be replicated.

Seems like a lot favour the 5D3 to the 1D4. I will re-look into the 5D3. Thanks all for your time.

really depends on the primary usage.. being used the 5D3 and 1D4 before, I can totally understand your struggle in decision. Both are exceptional cameras. My primary application is people and landscapes, and I've personally come to the conclusion to prefer the 5D3, largely due to the new AF system, no crop factor applied to my lens and better high ISO management. I still miss the high-speed burst to shoot actions, such as dogs chasing the Frisbee, but I think the sacrifice of the 4FPS was worth it for me. :)

avsquare said:
really depends on the primary usage.. being used the 5D3 and 1D4 before, I can totally understand your struggle in decision. Both are exceptional cameras. My primary application is people and landscapes, and I've personally come to the conclusion to prefer the 5D3, largely due to the new AF system, no crop factor applied to my lens and better high ISO management. I still miss the high-speed burst to shoot actions, such as dogs chasing the Frisbee, but I think the sacrifice of the 4FPS was worth it for me. :)

Eventually, you succumbed to both 5D3's image quality and 1D4's speed. Hence 1DX :D

chengpenguin said:
Eventually, you succumbed to both 5D3's image quality and 1D4's speed. Hence 1DX :D

I may choose to wait for 5D4. Seriously, I dont need the latest n bestest. One gen lower is usually where I'll go.

If 1D4 is a FF or 5D3's burst speed is 8FPS, I may just use either one of it :bsmilie:

1D4 become a FF is highly unlikely. Unless Canon roll out a sensor upgrade program..... haha...

5D3 going 8fps on the other hand maybe possible if Canon would one day release a firmware update for it... I think that what alot of 5DM# user is waiting after seeing 7D recent update...

15D3 going 8fps on the other hand maybe possible if Canon would one day release a firmware update for it... I think that what alot of 5DM# user is waiting after seeing 7D recent update...

But I suppose that's gonna be a long wait.. the 7D users have been waiting for a 7D2 but it came to be a silly software update that only really benefit a small user group..

Personally I had a 7D as my backup camera. Even though I don't use it often as my main, unless I need the fps and reach... I am definitely not complaining when they release the update. Haha

Haha.. not your main mah, plus I think 7D is still a good camera based on it's target user. The AF system and FPS is still a notch better than the XXD to XXXXD series.. I guess what I'm looking forward to see in the 7D2 is an APS-H sensor. I guess a handful of 7D users would also like to see a 7D2 with APS-H sensor but with ability to use both EF and EF-S lens. Higher and better ISO range, dual digic 5 processors to boost AF speed, and dual card slots would be welcomed to make this 7D series camera (which bears the XD series naming) a truly cropped semi-pro body for both pros and serious amateurs :D

guess what I'm looking forward to see in the 7D2 is an APS-H sensor. I guess a handful of 7D users would also like to see a 7D2 with APS-H sensor but with ability to use both EF and EF-S lens.

Personally I dun like ASP-H sensor. It's neither here or there... Also with EF-S lens design, I doubt Canon would change it to suit for APS-H mount.

APS-H is really a love or hate thing. Consumers who want a larger sensor but can't afford a FF camera, I guess APS-H would do for them. But for birders and wildlife, or anything that needs there reach, APS-H won't be welcomed. So IDK.. 1D4 is phased out but Canon doesn't say that APS-H is dead. Unless there's going to be a new line, like 3D for a pro-sized body with APS-H sensor, it may have a chance to appear in a lower line like 7D, or a 6D for APS-H sensor.. hmm..

As for the EF-S compatibility, personally I also think Canon won't do it. They want you to buy EF lens which is their cash cow :bsmilie: