1000D Photo Gallery for technical discussion (Part 2)

IMG_0019.jpg

IMG_0037.jpg

IMG_0052.jpg

IMG_0053.jpg

IMG_0055.jpg

not my kind of style though. for me, shooting nature for what i think best do it as naturally looking as possible. the effects here doesnt work for me. too much dodging burning?

#1 something with the clouds? ligthing too blown? and there is no rules in ur pic ie. rules of third or leading lines. really, if u nv put that water mark in ur picture, i dunno u want to emphasize the clouds or the rocks.

#2 animals shots or people shots or baby shots are best shot at their eye level. get down and dirty and try to get that different perspective view of the monitor lizard.

#3 the cropping of the picture too tight. maybe you can try shooting it in a different angle too.

#4 you could include the vegetation on the right. frame up your picture and of course, if the shot meant to have a straight horizon, make sure its straight. best its straight for this picture.

#5 example of leading lines being cut off. see the area where the water breaks onto the beach?? dont stop in the middle of the photo. put it at one corner, it might work for you. Bring out the green in that picture. The trees look so unsaturated. control the amount of exposure and contrast in your shots and ur PP.

remember, not all photos can use the same effect. you have to 'customise' each PP as the level of colors that ur camera receive each time is different.

just my 2 cents. ok lah . maybe 10 cents now. haha.

Bro's of 1000D side track abit. Need to ask abt this flashlight : Nissin SpeedLite Di622. Anyone using it? If yes any problem using it. Just wanna check if there's a problem. Thank in advance.

Yes it is off topic and we are trying to stay on topic given recent events. Please post your equipment questions on either
1. The Kopitiam thread at http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=502413
2. The Equipment Discussion thread at http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=488888

Bro, this is the photo gallery.

If you have any queries or topics to bring up regarding technical stuff,
you can go to our Canon 1000D thread IV

For general chit chat (that's where most of us most of the time),
visit our Club1000D - TCSS Part 2 (Kopitiam)

Anyway, to answer your question, I personally do not own the Nissin flash. But I do own a Sunpak. And a few of us here own other 3rd party flashes, except Nissin.
What I can say is, for all 3rd party flash, do not expect 100% ETTL compatibility.
Meaning, flash exposure compensation on your cam won't work and metering is not accurately passed on to the flash.
Be prepared to go manual with your flash.
But having said that, based on the specs, the Nissin seems to be a good buy.
Recycling time seems fast. It can even work as master/slave.

But of course, if you're looking at the long term AND you see it as a worthwhile investment, get a Canon one. ;p

Sorry for the OT, but I guess its better to at least provide an answer since I replied to his thread. Cheers.

Finally managed to get to the sunrise shots from last week ..
Sorry for the large size but using medium size, the image is a little too small to have any effect.
As usual C&C welcomed .. first time doing sunrise after all ..

Sorry for the large size but using medium size, the image is a little too small to have any effect.

Bro, I like d last photo but it seem 2 dark 2 mi. Especially our bald head bro side. :think:

I really like the feel of the last photo.
There's an imaginary leading line from Cakka to the fisherman to the sun setting in the distance.
So it tells a gd story.
However, if its a silhouette shot you're attempting, Cakka should have been darker.
Just outlining his silhouette will do actually.
Just my thoughts.

I really like the feel of the last photo.
There's an imaginary leading line from Cakka to the fisherman to the sun setting in the distance.
So it tells a gd story.
However, if its a silhouette shot you're attempting, Cakka should have been darker.
Just outlining his silhouette will do actually.
Just my thoughts.

sleepy: cannot make any brighter leh .. was trying to make it a silhouette shot

emotic: point noted ... i was attempting a silhouette shot. I also just realised that cakka isnt totally black .. i suspect it is because when i was editing the picture .. i slouch in my chair and the angle i was at with my LCD caused me to see it as totally dark already .. will go and touch up again.
P.s. it feels very good that you got what i was trying to do .. haha .. especially about the leading line from cakka to fisherman to sun via the reflection in the water. THanks for your comment.

3379574084_6ff89ef4ec.jpg

This is one lomonized picture bro netjackalsg mentioned, i did sometime back ago. seems a little over done..

[*]

[*]

Like this 2 cos of the colors and the details...4 wud be nicer if portion of sea is bigger versus sky and without the MBA guy...he's distracting!!!:bsmilie:

can the edited images postings go to the respective sections in the photo galleries?

because after editing they dont show the raw characteristics of the camera anymore.

thank you guys.

Nice shoot...

Hah, Draken, I had an almost similar one.. :bsmilie:. Great minds think a like :sweatsm:
IMG_2653rfn.jpg

lol!

But my picture got two off coloured ones.. depicting two lovers in a world of uniformity,

ultra_wide_hougang_with_no_pp_by_Draken413o.jpg

Technique: 6 photos,Tile Stitched together using Arcsoft Panorama maker 4.

Equipment: Sturdy Tripod, Remote,Circular Polariser, Canon 1000D, 18-55 kit lens.

Hope you enjoy this photo!

Thank you for viewing!!

lol!

But my picture got two off coloured ones.. depicting two lovers in a world of uniformity,

and mine is OOF, depicting my status as a photographer:sweatsm::sweat:

1. wahhhhhhhh.cokin riteeeeee!!!

wahhhhhhhh.cokin riteeeeee!!!
Actually I checked the image EXIF value and this particular shot was taken rather early in the day when I forgot that I had the filter set with me. So I did not actually have it on in that shot. The colors came by changing the white balance and adjusting some levels.