Xpan II kit @ $3858.75 nett

kex

just called pro photo and found out the price of the XpanII kit with 45mm lens,lens hood,body strap,and a "special" camera case for it,selling $3858.75nett..but dun include the centre filter :cry: $420 excl GST

purchase will also entitle u to buy the 90mm lens at 30% off retail ($999.++) excl GST..which will then have the centre filter free.

i asked about the instalment plan thing they mentioned,they say the details haven hammer out with the banks,will announce once they got info..

when i asked about the stock availabilty,they told me only "Limited stock available" as usual la.. :bsmilie:

anyway,i reserved one just in case..

$3858.75nett Hmm... tempting!

Can live w/o the super EX centre filter or not??

what xpan users say is that unless you are shooting on slides, you can live without the center filter. not sure about the actual reason why if its on negative film it is fine.

i also happen to see some postings of shots taken on the xpan without the filter, quite bearable. can look nice depending on the mood of the pic :bsmilie:

YOL925 said:

i certainly can do without it,since most of the time will be shooting B&W with it,can burn in the corners while printing.

as for slides,the corners can be burned in after scanning too..

somemore put the filter become 5.6 liao..(consoling myself :bsmilie: )

wouldn't mind if it is free though,haha...

juz wondering how come never give UV filter..must go squeeze them and see can get it free anot

XPAN II... drool factor man... for a good price somemore :thumbsup:

Xpan II kit set : got a best offer at $3800 nett (cash only). On it or not ??? :dunno: decision...decision......

YOL925 said:
Xpan II kit set : got a best offer at $3800 nett (cash only). On it or not ??? :dunno: decision...decision......

where did u get this price ??from pro photo as well ??
Do let me know leh..
i'm probably dropping by 2moro to get it.

hmmm, since fuji was the primary designer and engineer for the XPan, after Hasselblad improved on the first version and released the XPan II, did Fuji also do a tweak on their TX-1?

Does anybody know? Thanks :)

Sorry to hijack your thread hor :D

Anyway, centre filter is not needed. also, you will have to over by 1/2stop or 1stop for colour negative to get better prints. For slides, I've read that people advised to under by 1/2stop or 1stop, but in the end, my fotos came out severely underexposed. Back to basics I guess :)

JermsDayOut said:
hmmm, since fuji was the primary designer and engineer for the XPan, after Hasselblad improved on the first version and released the XPan II, did Fuji also do a tweak on their TX-1?

Does anybody know? Thanks :)

Sorry to hijack your thread hor :D

I thot there was a TX-2. Japan's domestic market only.

chgoh @ 7:10am, 01 Oct 2004

there is a fuji tx-2. in fact if i'm not wrong, the tx-2 is exactly the same camera as the xpan2.. and just the lenses are different. pricing wise, the fuji counterparts are cheaper than their xpan brothers... but not very significantly.

pls correct me if i'm wrong.

YOL925 said:

I have been shooting with Xpan using the 45mm lens without any light fall off.Unless you are shooting with the extreme 30mm lens(which costs an arm and a leg)then you need that centre filter.
Just a reminder, focusing is quite difficult for me(maybe my eyes are bad) in low light area.
Cheers.

This was shot with the 45mm lens hand held.(regreted not getting the tripod from my car).Not that sharp.Film used:Kodak 100vs. The lights were pointed to the middle of the stage, hence the center is brighter than both corners, this is not light fall off.Taken at around 7.30pm.
The Monkey God Festival:
http://www.singapore2view.com/MonkeyGodFestival/MonkeyGod.jpg

Nice and colourful shot James, yeah too bad no tripod. Would definitely have loved to use an XPan for my landscape photography back in Aus and when I was travelling Europe.

YOL925 said:
QUOTE]

Why not try for the Xpan I (not Xpan II), there is not much difference except for the very,very long exposure and a few small changes on the LCD screen.I bought my Xpan I kit with 45mm and EMS shipping from HKong for S$2,793. dated March 2003. I do not know if you still can get this price for the Xpan I.?
The 90mm f4 lens I bought for S$990 same source.
Please note: Price exclude 3% GST, Now its 5%. :(

i just bought the Xpan II kit this morning for $3858.75nett.. dunno where YOL925 get the $3800 price from though,that guy there told me the price i bought is the lowest liao..
come with the body,45mm lens,lens shade(nice),strap,spirit level and the Hasselblad ever ready leather case thrown in..
just ran 2 rolls thru it.hehehe...

yeah!!! tmw i come ur shop i get to play with it liao!!! 3 CHEERS!!!

eh..paisay,
2moro i leaving ard 12.30 in the noon,have a shoot to do.come ard 12 and u have 30mins to play with it,hehehe..after 12.30pm i won't be ard..

But i must warn you 1st..
Highly addictive stuff!~ kekekke..