Where to buy 42mm filter?

Drudkh

I need a 42mm polariser filter for my 300mm, which is an internal screw on attachment. Browsed the Hoya website and the smallest filter size is 52mm. Is there any other brands available in this size?

Drudkh said:
I need a 42mm polariser filter for my 300mm, which is an internal screw on attachment. Browsed the Hoya website and the smallest filter size is 52mm. Is there any other brands available in this size?
Hiee Bro...

I have a friend going to JPN. I can try to ask him to get for you. I do have one bought in JPN. I use it for my 400mm. You need ot buy the one which is dedicated as you need to turn the polariser via a coupling form the outside.

rgds,
sulhan

sulhan said:
You need ot buy the one which is dedicated as you need to turn the polariser via a coupling form the outside.
how to turn from the outside? still need to take out drop-in attachment and turn the cir-pol filter right?

I'm going to try TCW later, but doubt they have.

Drudkh said:
how to turn from the outside? still need to take out drop-in attachment and turn the cir-pol filter right?

I'm going to try TCW later, but doubt they have.
Hiee Bro...

I vae gone through every possible shop here in SGP for the filter- but in vain. You no need to take out the filter to turn the polariser. Its coupled by a turning dial from the outside surface. Its made by KM.

It cost about $300SGD ~$350SGD.

rgds,
sulhan

sulhan said:
Hiee Bro...

I vae gone through every possible shop here in SGP for the filter- but in vain. You no need to take out the filter to turn the polariser. Its coupled by a turning dial from the outside surface. Its made by KM.

rgds,
sulhan
:bigeyes: wow... don't think i wanna spend so much. can't i just get a 42mm polariser and turn myself? maybe tape it secure after i found the sweet spot after turning? :hung:

Drudkh said:
:bigeyes: wow... don't think i wanna spend so much. can't i just get a 42mm polariser and turn myself? maybe tape it secure after i found the sweet spot after turning? :hung:
Hiee don....

You can do that.....its worth trying out. I tried searching for that alternative too.....
and only to find 37mm which was below the required size.... bummer...

Rgds,
Sulhan

sulhan said:
Hiee don....

You can do that.....its worth trying out. I tried searching for that alternative too.....
and only to find 37mm which was below the required size.... bummer...

Rgds,
Sulhan
yeah, I tried google for 42mm and no results! :(

Damn, looks like I have to try and DIY using my existing 49mm cirpol. :complain:

sulhan said:
Hiee Bro...

rgds,
sulhan

That is about right, probably try eBay.. it pops up from time to time.. not cheap too...

Hart

Agetan said:
That is about right, probably try eBay.. it pops up from time to time.. not cheap too...

Hart
Thanks Hart, don't think I'll spend that much for a filter of that size.

Drudkh said:
Damn, looks like I have to try and DIY using my existing 49mm cirpol. :complain:
The POLfor the APO'Gs is not many too.....the last time i got form JPN, there were only one more left...

rgds,
sulhan

hmm see how can i fix a 49mm on first. :bsmilie:

Hiee Don...

Here is the pic of the filter and the FYI info on how its fixed on...

fil0.jpg

The item in the round box....

fil1.jpg

The locked knob position with orange line vertically to the image plane

fil2.jpg

The unlocked position - orange line horizontal to image plane...

fil3.jpg

Taking it out...

fil4.jpg

The clear filter inside - act as protection for dust entering lens internal chamber...

continued...

Continued...

fil5.jpg

The close up with the parts shown....

fil6.jpg

Inserting into lens...

fil8.jpg

Adjustable outer dial to move the polariser inside...

fil9.jpg

Locking in Back into position...

I will be putting htis images on my website soon...

Rgds,
Sulhan

too ex leh bro!!! :cry:
think i better off buy a 82mm for the front. :(
btw, thanks for showing me, you are evil man. :sticktong

Drudkh said:
too ex leh bro!!! :cry:
think i better off buy a 82mm for the front. :(
btw, thanks for showing me, you are evil man. :sticktong
No lah.....

Just sayang your lens...mah...imagine you got a filter that drop in and then knock on the inner element.......ouch!!!!

rgds,
sulhan

sulhan said:
No lah.....

Just sayang your lens...mah...imagine you got a filter that drop in and then knock on the inner element.......ouch!!!!

rgds,
sulhan
hmm the 49mm filter too thick liao. can't even go in. LOL! :bsmilie: