What do you guys think about the Minolta 70-210mm F4?

alvin

Does it autofocus better than the kit 75-300 lens? The kit lens hunts quite a bit, even in daylight at the full zoom range. Thanks!

Alvin

PS: I know it's discontinued. Used market then :)

alvin said:
Does it autofocus better than the kit 75-300 lens? The kit lens hunts quite a bit, even in daylight at the full zoom range. Thanks!

Alvin

PS: I know it's discontinued. Used market then :)

The AF 70-210 f4 has a rather heavy focusing. you would need a SLR body with powerful motor.As for why the kit lens hunt is because of the f-stops. The camera CCD gets less light so cannot confirm focusing faster. If you wanna try, visit me. ;)

I give it 8/10 for the optics. can show you some slides taken by this lens with 2X converter.nice colors. :thumbsup:

The Minolta 70-210 f4, is a great lens with superb optics. None of the current range for Minolta 70-200 can match it excpet for the G lenses. Yse its slow in focussing but remmebre the lens is more than 14 years old. Also remmebr in the consumer category no longer will you get fixed aperture zoom lenses.

I have been having this lens since 1989 and i get very good results.

cheers
ramesh

Hi guys! Thanks for the advice. Tried it today @ TCW & Minolta SVC actually seems (to me) focuses better then the kit lens. Probably the larger aperture. Too bad the one @ TCW got resident fungi :( I'll be hunting down this lens then.

Alvin

PS: Can't believe the focusing speed of a dynax 9 and 7! And i thought my sony or dynax 5 was fast :bigeyes:

Hello Alvin, can work something out for you if you want...juz call me...anyway, do us proud ok...best luck to you and your team! :thumbsup:

Thanks Andy! Will do our best :)

alvin said:
Hi guys! Thanks for the advice. Tried it today @ TCW & Minolta SVC actually seems (to me) focuses better then the kit lens. Probably the larger aperture. Too bad the one @ TCW got resident fungi :( I'll be hunting down this lens then.

Alvin

PS: Can't believe the focusing speed of a dynax 9 and 7! And i thought my sony or dynax 5 was fast :bigeyes:

Yeah the Dynax 7 has fantastic focussing speed....... probably due to the higher number of AF sensors...... the Dynax 9 is more accurate with depth work since it has a cross-beam sensor........ but that is out of my reach and I dun really need it anyway..... :D

The cross sensors did make the difference.you are right,the dynax 9 is beyond my reach too. :cry: . but i dun quite like the sound of Dynax 7 focusing leh.still trust my 700si.wonderful metering...

andylee said:
The cross sensors did make the difference.you are right,the dynax 9 is beyond my reach too. :cry: . but i dun quite like the sound of Dynax 7 focusing leh.still trust my 700si.wonderful metering...

Dynax 7 got sound meh??? It's quite silent what!

alvin said:
Thanks Andy! Will do our best :)

May I ask what's all this about??

TME said:
Dynax 7 got sound meh??? It's quite silent what!

Ha Ha,the dynax 7 with the 300f4 in the showroom got noise mah.. :bsmilie: use to the focusing sound of my 700si ..... :bsmilie: i feel the dynax 9's focusing sound is almost the same as my 700si... :bsmilie:

andylee said:
Ha Ha,the dynax 7 with the 300f4 in the showroom got noise mah.. :bsmilie: use to the focusing sound of my 700si ..... :bsmilie: i feel the dynax 9's focusing sound is almost the same as my 700si... :bsmilie:

Wah piangz........ like that how can....... your showroom so quiet!

TME said:
Wah piangz........ like that how can....... your showroom so quiet!

HaHa,

You are here at the wrong time, sometimes i'm very busy in the showroom.my average lunch time is at 3pm....always thought that is gonna kill me.......but......... :(

andylee said:
HaHa,

You are here at the wrong time, sometimes i'm very busy in the showroom.my average lunch time is at 3pm....always thought that is gonna kill me.......but......... :(

Is it? I guess evgeryone make use of lunch time to do errands like send camera for repairs lar..... or to do a little shopping....... kekeke........... :D