The Poor Man's Steadicam

plf09

Is anyone here in Singapore selling it? I know I've seen it on the internet, selling for cheap, but has anyone here assembled it and is selling it?

Hi PLF09,

I'm not sure which type you are referring to but I made my own poor man's steadicam a couple of years back using a cheap monopod and an ankle weight.

The shots turned out to be quite ok but (in my opinion) they will vary depending on the grip of your hand that is carrying the gizmo (presumably, the right hand). If it's too tight, the shakes are more apparent. If it's too loose, the gizmo will be swaying too much. Therefore, your forearm and hand muscles must be strong enough to provide a "just nice" grip and maintain it throughout the whole shoot.

Cheerio !!
Azman

`
`

Hey Plf, i think you can find the steadicam at CP. I remember seeing a consumer version of it on ther site. I believe they can help you get most of the steadicams there. Hope that helps ~Yoko

Ha ha, the one at CP is the moderately rich man's steadicam. I think plf is looking for a home-made version.

Are you guys referring to this website? http://steadycam.org/
This home made US $14 is truly ingenious!

I think you can build a similar model at a cheaper price. These guys are selling it online. Counter balance = body building weights from cash converter and some washer and water pipes from the hardware store should do the trick. Problem is, I think if you have one, you might have to NOT care about losing face and grabbing attention while shooting on the street! I might do the poor man steadicam if need be... I have the rich man version and they aren't any better unfortunately. :(

Are you guys referring to this website? http://steadycam.org/
This home made US $14 is truly ingenious!

I think you can build a similar model at a cheaper price. These guys are selling it online. Counter balance = body building weights from cash converter and some washer and water pipes from the hardware store should do the trick. Problem is, I think if you have one, you might have to NOT care about losing face and grabbing attention while shooting on the street! I might do the poor man steadicam if need be... I have the rich man version and they aren't any better unfortunately. :(

Haha well, nothing does the trick better than a good old fashion black or gun metal paintjob and some good craftmanship. I bet you can make the cheapo plastic version look "professional" if you put in some effort and time :D

... I have the rich man version and they aren't any better unfortunately. :(

I think we may need to buy the Rich Movie Production House version lah :bsmilie:
`
`

Azman...Poorman Steadicam is perfect for HMC 152. It's only 1.6kg Not too heavy for long takes. ;)

It's not just the weight. I think for a really smooth gliding shot, the set of gimbals (what is it ? click here) that is present in the rich man or Pro steadicam is the one thing that makes it happen.

I'm not discouraging anyone from making or using the poor man's steadicam (hey, I started out with it). It's just that I was not able to produce as smooth a shot as I wanted to with it. But that is just me.

However, to be fair, I used my poor man's steadicam with my 1st camera, the 2.6kg Panasonic AG-DVC62. The camera plus mic & battery weigh nearly 3 kg. The counterweight is 2.5 kg. That's almost 5.5 kg !!

Cannot tahan lah Brader
`
`

You can buy a brand-new professional steadicam system for light videocameras for 5680 SGD (2772 EUR) from http://slideman.net/eng/prices_eng.html

I am a camera-operator and steadicam-operator working with this system and can guarantee and recommend it without any hesitations.

You can buy a brand-new professional steadicam system for light videocameras for 5680 SGD (2772 EUR) from http://slideman.net/eng/prices_eng.html

I am a camera-operator and steadicam-operator working with this system and can guarantee and recommend it without any hesitations.

I think we were all referring to a much much much more economical version of the steadicam. The one you're promoting costs about 250 times more :bigeyes: that the one we're talking about :sweat:
`
`

Looks like a promising product! Considering that I'm more aware of American products such as Glidecam, Blackbird etc...
5680 SGD is not too bad since the price of a complete Steadicam is also way too crazy!

It's a Bulgarian product ain't it?

How to order this system? I cannot find any ordering info on the site.

how about a semi poor steadicam?

from what i read, the gimbal mechanism is the heart of the steadicams.

you can buy the actual merlin gimbal assembly which comes with the hand grip

for $159 online everywhere.

then, you can attach all the simpler, easy to construct parts around it making

a solid semi-poor excellent performer.

these gadgets are really not all that complicated, just overpriced!

p.s. using a steadicam is 90% user. if you are co-ordinated,
can spin a basketball on one finger, can walk on light feet
like a cat with great balance, then you'll get smooth videography.
if you are a clumsy duck-footed nerd, no steadicam will make you a star.
(luckily, i can spin a basketball on one finger). :xmas:

disclaimer: no offence to duck-footed nerds. :eek:

Saw this Movcam brand online. Maybe you wanna try looking for it here in s'pore. Saw this brand in BCA 2009 @ Medios Associate booth. Quite impressive. Also there is this stablizers from Varizoom which you might wanna try out.

How to order this system? I cannot find any ordering info on the site.
info@slideman.net
Tell them that Zhivko recomended it and you'll get 10% discount. (They'll call me to check it)

And yes, SLIDEMAN is made in Bulgaria, Europe.

If you are interested, I can arrange to bring and sell separate items: for example - only the gimbal, only the arm, only the vest or post (sled)

Saw a China rip-off of the blackbird at photo supply store on 5th level of SimLim Square. Didn't ask for the price but quite sure it's a fraction of the real thing.
BTW I bought this Hakutatz LED videolight from today at the shop for only $65!!
http://tw.page.bid.yahoo.com/tw/auction/d41569589?u=borji.tw

Wah Blackbird got ripoff liao ah??? Must go check it out!

Looks like a promising product! Considering that I'm more aware of American products such as Glidecam, Blackbird etc...
5680 SGD is not too bad since the price of a complete Steadicam is also way too crazy!

It's a Bulgarian product ain't it?

The steadicam Pilot cost SGD6500 region. Glidecam x10+HD4000 is SGD5600 region for your reference