Tell me what you DUN like about 7D

tokrot

OK, to be frank we have also spoken on the good points of 7D. I think it's time to highlight the bad. ;)

OK.. Here's What I dislike about 7D

1) Not enough LCD magnification
Reason being is sharp pics can be shown very clear but blurr pics are not even clearly shown on max magnification

2) Fast battery flat
Battery being flat too fast for 3 hrs shooting...

3) Confusing camera auto focusing points
The camera auto focus points are pretty useless in wide focus area IMHO

4) Low light hunting
Hunting in some low light situations though not extensive. Performance not up to as expected

5) Dust easily caught between LCD and protector.

6) Built in Flash easily pulled up by neck strap

7) card level ejector always have to press twice to be inserted for closing.

8) Image bit too soft for my liking

9) USB Door latch designed wrongly.. Its on the way of gravity. The Door should be opened from bottom to top.

10) No auto rotate function in menu. You can't choose whether to auto rotate when pics taken in different orientation.

11) Lower dials are quite difficult to rotate.

Care to share yours? :bsmilie:

Well...

1. Not compatible with high speed writing technology on CF Card.

2. No remote photo capturing feature. Not really a concern / dislike for me, but some do compare this feature with the rest of the most DSLRs which offer this function.

IMO, I second tokrot's item (1), (4) & (5). Item (3), probably if we understand more on the sensor technology or technical characters, we should be able 'to make 7D functions in the user way' :-) There's a brief technical report written by someone in dpreview, for the back/front focus testing matter, it touches a little but clear enough for the reader to understand how sensors work.

Cheers...

tokrot said:

8) Image bit too soft for my liking

Hiee Tokrot.....

When you mean soft.....was it a printer (inkjet) print or a photolab print....or palinly view on PC?

I brought some samples of photos taken with the cam & lab printed during the minolta gathering and its "dead" sharp!!!!

rgds,
sulhan

-7- said:
2. No remote photo capturing feature. Not really a concern / dislike for me, but some do compare this feature with the rest of the most DSLRs which offer this function.

What feature is this? I thought there will be some software free for download soon that can transfer image straight from camera to PC directly?

sulhan said:
Hiee Tokrot.....

When you mean soft.....was it a printer (inkjet) print or a photolab print....or palinly view on PC?

I brought some samples of photos taken with the cam & lab printed during the minolta gathering and its "dead" sharp!!!!

rgds,
sulhan

Hi I gathered you printed at 4R right? so I think the downsized version should be 'sharp'. When viewing landscape pics on computers, I feel it's too soft for my liking and I did pump up the in camera sharping. The close-up portrait is extremely sharp, clear and detailed... :thumbsup:

sulhan said:
Hiee Tokrot.....

rgds,
sulhan

Tokrot didn't attend last gathering lah.. else.. he will be amazed by your photos.. :thumbsup:

deslim27 said:
Tokrot didn't attend last gathering lah.. else.. he will be amazed by your photos.. :thumbsup:

I am sure the print out should be great... Too bad I missed the last gathering due to my niece's 2nd year birthday... :bsmilie:

tokrot said:
I am sure the print out should be great... Too bad I missed the last gathering due to my niece's 2nd year birthday... :bsmilie:

No problem.. next time come come.. :bsmilie:

Anyway, if you want sharper picture straight from the box.. just bump up the sharpness setting although it is not recommended by those gurus.. they prefer to sharpen it during post processing.

Also, did you consider the factors of hand shake, shallow DOF, color constrast etc, they also contribute to 'soft look'.

deslim27 said:
What feature is this? I thought there will be some software free for download soon that can transfer image straight from camera to PC directly?

Yo Des,
Probably you are awared of this feature but may be I phrase it in a technically not correct term ;p

This feature enables you to take photograph when you connect it to normal TV. It is a real time shown on TV screen and you can do the shooting in the sense of 'remote' way. ;) this feature was first seen when the P&S digital camera hits the market...

tokrot said:
Hi I gathered you printed at 4R right? so I think the downsized version should be 'sharp'. When viewing landscape pics on computers, I feel it's too soft for my liking and I did pump up the in camera sharping. The close-up portrait is extremely sharp, clear and detailed... :thumbsup:
I disagree with you that the pics are soft. Have you seen the pics I posted on another thread about the 28-75 f/2.8 lens? I have 100% crop and its very sharp. Have you set in the menu the sharpness to +2? That photo was taken with +1.

-7- said:
This feature enables you to take photograph when you connect it to normal TV. It is a real time shown on TV screen and you can do the shooting in the sense of 'remote' way. ;) this feature was first seen when the P&S digital camera hits the market...

but DSLR is using Optical VF, unlike P&S.. how to show it on TV real-time?

tokrot said:
7) card level ejector always have to press twice to be inserted for closing.
Sad enough, this is inherited from notebook/laptop pcmcia way of ejecting the card. Maybe someday there'll be a new way. ;)

deslim27 said:
but DSLR is using Optical VF, unlike P&S.. how to show it on TV real-time?

Technically, that was my thought as well when I was informed on the complain. But according to some users, many DSLRs are able to perform ler... like D70, but again, only hear say, have yet visually verify that :P

Drudkh said:
I disagree with you that the pics are soft. Have you seen the pics I posted on another thread about the 28-75 f/2.8 lens? I have 100% crop and its very sharp. Have you set in the menu the sharpness to +2? That photo was taken with +1.

Hi dude, I think I phrased wrongly. ;) I was meant to say the pics looked much better after increasing the in-camera sharpening especially the portrait shots. Very detailed and sharp... I am impressed. :D

Drudkh said:
Sad enough, this is inherited from notebook/laptop pcmcia way of ejecting the card. Maybe someday there'll be a new way. ;)

Errr... But mine is not always like that... probably have to press all the way in. I dun think PCMCIA slots like that. I work in manfacturing plant testing PCMCIA cards using the slots similar to the camera one. It's not like what you describe leh... correct me if I am wrong.. :embrass:

-7- said:
Well...

1. Not compatible with high speed writing technology on CF Card.

You mean WA technology isit? I think Dpreview has the article. ;)

-7- said:
Technically, that was my thought as well when I was informed on the complaint. But according to some users, many DSLRs are able to perform ler... like D70, but again, only hear say, have yet visually verify that :P

I don't think so.. but if you say image output to monitor/TV after the image is capture.. then maybe.. The only DSLR that does realtime display like P&S on back LCD is S3 Pro, but with big limitation also.

deslim27 said:
Just curious.. are my satays look soft to you?

http://www.pbase.com/deslim27/image/37801289

hehey...a pic. tells a thousand words...sometimes mute a thousand debates (j/k)

cool one, wonder how much you are paid for such a nice product shoot :dunno: :bsmilie: or how many satays did the boss give you LOL...

Using the magnificent 100mm Macro from Minolta?

tokrot said:
Errr... But mine is not always like that... probably have to press all the way in. I dun think PCMCIA slots like that. I work in manfacturing plant testing PCMCIA cards using the slots similar to the camera one. It's not like what you describe leh... correct me if I am wrong.. :embrass:
Hmm I don't own a notebook and i last touch notebook and pcmcia card was like 10 years ago? Maybe they have changed?

To take out the card, push once to get the lever out, then push the 2nd time (lever all the way in) to eject card. Am I right?