Sx10is + dcr250

nice butterfly & moth shots :)

Does anyone has a picture of how to clip the DCR250 to the SX10IS? Like plug and play pattern? Finally got hold of it yesterday and happen to run across this thread. I din know that hte SX10IS can support an external macro kit. I do know that my S2IS but I never tried before.

Can anyone provide me a link to buy this DCR250 at a cheaper price? The McGrill website seemed to quote around S$175, is that the market price?

Does anyone has a picture of how to clip the DCR250 to the SX10IS? Like plug and play pattern? Finally got hold of it yesterday and happen to run across this thread. I din know that hte SX10IS can support an external macro kit. I do know that my S2IS but I never tried before.

Can anyone provide me a link to buy this DCR250 at a cheaper price? The McGrill website seemed to quote around S$175, is that the market price?

The price is $120. Not sure what the $175 is but it could be the adaptor and the Raynox DCR250 set.

For the SX10, you just clip the Raynox on the lens itself. There is no adaptor for the SX10.

Oh u mean I just need to clip the DCR250 at the end of the lens barrel will do the job? Where's the best place to get it? Thru the McGrill webswite?

Yes, clip it at the end of the barrel or you can get a UV filter or step up ring and screw on the barrel thread and then attach the DCR250 on it.

Why dun you try the buy and sell forum? You probably can get it ard $90 to $100 there. :)

Otherwise I understand MS colour also sell it. You can call them up to ask if they have it. For McGill, you either have to self collect it at Bedok interchange or get them to mail it to you which will cost you an additional $2 if I remember correctly.

Woo... it's getting more fascinating to me... can mount DCR250... now also can mount filter... I will search the forum then.... do u have a specs or model number for the UV filter? Tried searching on the web but a bit unsuccessful. Because officially SX10 IS is incapable of adding any add ons.

Initially was planning to switch to Canon 450D after selling my Powershot. But after weighing the pros and cons... finally switched back to SX10IS, mainly for the convenience of not switching lens.. now Im regretting less and less!

Thanz!

Woo... it's getting more fascinating to me... can mount DCR250... now also can mount filter... I will search the forum then.... do u have a specs or model number for the UV filter? Tried searching on the web but a bit unsuccessful. Because officially SX10 IS is incapable of adding any add ons.

Initially was planning to switch to Canon 450D after selling my Powershot. But after weighing the pros and cons... finally switched back to SX10IS, mainly for the convenience of not switching lens.. now Im regretting less and less!

Thanz!

You can order the filter adaptor from lensmate.

http://lensmateonline.com/newsite/SX10SX1.html

This website so wonderful! Going to order the Hoya filter man.. thanz!

Hi, may I know what's the kind of camera setting for shooting insects? Im going to get the Raynox lens soon.. so just curious to know more before I get my hands on it. When u attached the Raynox lens on the barrel, do u set the camera in the macro mode... super macro mode.. or the normal zoom mode? What's the kind of distance from the object we are talking abt?

ISO 100, f8.0 and don't set the camera in macro or super modes...U should use normal zoom mode. :)

If you are free this Sat morning, u can join us at SBG for a macro shoot. There a couple of us using the DCR250 so you could probably be able to borrow one to try for a while. ;)

Got the Raynox Macro at the US market. Good and reliable. Yesterday was trying playing out at my room... has difficulty in focusing!

Questions:
i) Is the distance from object to lens fixed at ard say... 10~12cm? Tried to zoom in further and focus... unable to do so... blur blur liao...
ii) Maybe this is a common problem, there are some black areas at the corner at some range... the way to reduce it is juz to zoom in further. Right?
iii) How is it possible to take a close-up of a bug's eye?? Sounds so incredible to me.

Tonight will play with it again...

Got the Raynox Macro at the US market. Good and reliable. Yesterday was trying playing out at my room... has difficulty in focusing!

Questions:
i) Is the distance from object to lens fixed at ard say... 10~12cm? Tried to zoom in further and focus... unable to do so... blur blur liao...
ii) Maybe this is a common problem, there are some black areas at the corner at some range... the way to reduce it is juz to zoom in further. Right?
iii) How is it possible to take a close-up of a bug's eye?? Sounds so incredible to me.

Tonight will play with it again...

Once you get used to the Raynox it's pretty easy to get the focus correct Just takes a bit of getting used to thats all. Also take note you should be using the Raynox with your SX10 at ISO 100 and f8 or smaller.

I presume you are using Auto focus? In this case, move your cam until the item you are focusing on is in focus and then use the auto focus to get a sharper focus.

To ge a close up of a bug's eye, you need to zoom until ard max and then focus on the eye lor...:bsmilie: Depends on how big the bug is also. You probably need to crop the photo in post editing though...:)

Yes, Im using the Auto focus mode. I din switch to IS100 because i was playing it in my room.. juz let it go auto first. But tonight I will try. So it is possible to zoom to the max (i.e. 20x) and still manage to focus huh. If yes, then I will play until I master it.... perhaps I need to use the fully manual mode rather than the P mode.

Thanz man.

Tks teebs :thumbsup: for responding to all the queries post by our fellow Clubsnap's here..

Was away for awhile and can't reply to most of the queries here..