Sigma 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 EX DG

Flying Dutchmen

After reading up on a lot of threads on this forum (thanks for all the info and advise), I have taken the step from film SLR. I can see that I am missing out on the wide end as my widest lens is a 21-35. I find the Sigma 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 EX DG an interesting lens for two reasons. It gives me a nice wide angle for my 7D, but also for my 8000i as the lens is suitable for film SLR as well. Second thought I have is that it might also work on a Konica-Minolta-Sony full frame DSLR (2006, afordable 2007?).
Does anyone have experience with this lens and any comments on the above reasons?

Power 98?
no longer in Class 95?

Drudkh said:
Power 98?
no longer in Class 95?

Class 95. Yeah.. wonder if he is the FD in 95.. heee

Sorry, I don't work for the radio. I just moved to Singapore last July.

I don't have the experience with the lens, but several online review site has mentioned that this lens is really good...

I am thinking of getting this lens as well.... well, I think I will be awhile before I buy something..

Hart

Flying Dutchmen said:
After reading up on a lot of threads on this forum (thanks for all the info and advise), I have taken the step from film SLR. I can see that I am missing out on the wide end as my widest lens is a 21-35. I find the Sigma 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 EX DG an interesting lens for two reasons. It gives me a nice wide angle for my 7D, but also for my 8000i as the lens is suitable for film SLR as well. Second thought I have is that it might also work on a Konica-Minolta-Sony full frame DSLR (2006, afordable 2007?).
Does anyone have experience with this lens and any comments on the above reasons?

I was eyeing this lens for quite a while but always found it too expensive. But I have read a ton of reviews all over dpreview and over here on clubsnap as well as photo.net and other forums that I have forgotten. Overall the feedback is that the lens performs beautifully. Very good colour, very very sharp, focuses very fast and is pretty resistant to flare if the hood is on all the time. From the posted pictures (full frame, scanned slides, that was like 1-2 years back), barrel distortion at the widest looks pretty well controlled even where there are vertical lines. This would not be an issue with the 1.5x FOV crop.

But there are some drawbacks. The lens design is convex and sticks out... and because of that I think u can't mount filters. Also u are in more danger (relatively) of damaging the lens irreparably if it hits the ground front first... whereas in other lenses, the filter acts as the shock absorber. Also the lens is pretty heavy and the diameter is quite frighteningly big!

For me, the pros outweigh the cons. The only thing preventing me from getting it is the cost - well over a S$1000. And also the emergence of the KM 11-18mm DT lens... I have not considered full frame DSLRs cos they will be out of reach until prices fall to current 7D levels.

Hope this helps. U can get the lens easily from Alan Photo as well as Cathay Photo. Try MS Colour or John 3:16. The last is probably going to quote a higher price but u do get excellent service.

Thx for some good points, especially on the convex design. I guess the big size is a good match for the 7D. About using it for full frame: someone mentioned to me that digital lenses are designed to have the light perpendicular to the CCD. This would theoretically mean that the lens can also be used for full frame right? I am hoping that they become afordable within 2 years?? :dunno: I might get it for a good price in the Netherlands if I can claim back the 19% GST.

I own this lens.

I enjoy having this lens, so far its the only wide angle lens i have seen with LESS distortion even compare to tokina and nikon. not tried the canon super wide angle yet.

disadvantage is that, when comes to flash, it works on anything above F8 ONLY... nothing less. I mean the sharpness...

It works perfectly less distortion on my Dynax 7, should goes well with your 800si

AFAIK, this lens distortion control is very good for an ultra wide.. Don't worry about the convex front element, it is protected by the fixed metal hood. I owned a 15-30EX previously with similar design.. no sweat!

photo_kbc said:
I own this lens.

I enjoy having this lens, so far its the only wide angle lens i have seen with LESS distortion even compare to tokina and nikon. not tried the canon super wide angle yet.

disadvantage is that, when comes to flash, it works on anything above F8 ONLY... nothing less. I mean the sharpness...

It works perfectly less distortion on my Dynax 7, should goes well with your 800si

Do you have any online photos?

Hart

deslim27 said:
AFAIK, this lens distortion control is very good for an ultra wide.. Don't worry about the convex front element, it is protected by the fixed metal hood. I owned a 15-30EX previously with similar design.. no sweat!

hehe.... i know where you lens gone hey!!!

Agetan said:
hehe.... i know where you lens gone hey!!!

Then share your experience with the same lens lah.. :bsmilie:

15-30 not enuff meh? Still need a 12-24 kekeke..

deslim27 said:
Then share your experience with the same lens lah.. :bsmilie:

15-30 not enuff meh? Still need a 12-24 kekeke..

I start to do a bit of interior shots... sometime I just wish that I have something wider...

but I will keep using the 15-30 until I earn enough to justify buying the 12-24 lor..

photo_kbc said:

hi, u mean it can be used on the film 7 from 12mm to 24mm without any vignetting/light fall off?
wow, if it's true, that's the ultimate wide angle lens for film and digital!

ileaf said:
hi, u mean it can be used on the film 7 from 12mm to 24mm without any vignetting/light fall off?
wow, if it's true, that's the ultimate wide angle lens for film and digital!

No vignetting and light fall off... PERFECT for conventional camera and digital...

photo_kbc said:
No vignetting and light fall off... PERFECT for conventional camera and digital...

wow! thanks for the info!
time to save more money! :)

Prepare >$1100 though...

TME said:
Prepare >$1100 though...

yeah sg is selling $1100 to $1150... kinda ex....unless u are a film user too..