Should I get a DVX102b or Pd150/170?

danel

HI guys I thought of getting a second hand camera, was thinking of of getting either of the two mention... What do you think is a better bet for weddings? Of course if anyone is interested in letting go, do PM me yah!

:) :) :)

Personally, I think it's all about personal preferrence. Why the Sony cam generally have a longer zoom (12x), it's wide angel sucks. While the Panasonic only has a 10x zoom, the wide is a lot more wider. The other are the features, the Sony are great for that solid video image, the DVX has Cine Gamma / 25p mode for that film look. Most event cameramen prefers Sony becos of the longer zoom but I think it lacks the creative edge of the DVX.

So depending what's your style and need, either is good. Most DVX users won't sell theirs easily. If you like the Sony why not get the FX1 with HDV format, it will cost about the same.

hey tommon, thks for your reply! i'll be using it mostly for wedding shoots bah... not too sure if FX1 audio can make it since doesn't have the xlr input? actually I'm still blur abt the 25(p). this (p) everyone says will produce nice film effect but i still reading up, dun quite get it.. actually i prefer sony one but usually very ex... dvx is much affordable... thats why trying my luck to get 2nd hand, cos usually peopel already got accesories, dun have to add this and add that...

the dvx is an excellent camera. I am looking for second hand as well.
let me know if anyone plan to upgrade their camera .

I ups the DVX. Sony hasn't improve much on the PD170 over the PD150. That is why I have 8 units of DVX and only 2 units of Sony.

hmm. good point.

but then im a sony fan. heehee.

Panasonic! Panasonic! Panasonic! Panasonic! its my choice 4 minidv but Sony's my choice 4 broadcast cameralah!

I ups the DVX. Sony hasn't improve much on the PD170 over the PD150. That is why I have 8 units of DVX and only 2 units of Sony.

8 unit of dvx, boss what business are you in ?
cheers for you .
dvx is the way to go
any plan to let go of 1

DVX users beware, SONY's new V1 is very good and also in HDV using mini DV tape with 20x zoom. This will certainly rival all the HVX200 as it can only us the P2 or ext HD to record HD footages.

I have tested the cam, better than Z1 in more ways than one, shots in progressive mode, cine gamma, knee adjustment, all in the small PD150/170 body with 20x zoom range. I reallt like it, I begining to be converted back to SONY.

DVX users beware, SONY's new V1 is very good and also in HDV using mini DV tape with 20x zoom. This will certainly rival all the HVX200 as it can only us the P2 or ext HD to record HD footages.

I have tested the cam, better than Z1 in more ways than one, shots in progressive mode, cine gamma, knee adjustment, all in the small PD150/170 body with 20x zoom range. I reallt like it, I begining to be converted back to SONY.

Just want to share some basic knowledge about the camera.
The reason why HVX202 cant record to tape, because there too many information.
And its DVCpro HD, not HDV
its a different codec, additional to that .
its vary speed mode is an asset .
the only con i will say is the price and the shape.
can check out more at dvxusr.com

woohoo got the dvx liao!
swee swee... time to play around...
erhmmm v1, hvx all nice wor but erhmmm with a budget of 3k... making a choice won't be that tough hor...

Let me conclude....

CANON XH-A1 XH-G1 owns.
:P

The cost of recording in ProHD or full HD is still a little to high in cost for most prosumer level. The need for a HD pack is already an extra $2k on top of the cost of the cam. While Sony's approach to using miniDV tapes on slightly lower HDV format is more practical for entry level into HD.

To be honest, most people on the street can't tell the difference between HDV or full HD. Secondly, most of the masses do not own all those full HD equipment to playback full HD, too expensive. Lastly, Danel is using it for weddings, meaning the couple will be showing their vidro to all their friends and relatives, so it would be embarassing to be unable show it on their TVs. So that's all, folks.

Quick question.....does the DVX have an XLR input for external mics??? Saw one at SLS that does not, just the built in mic....anyone can clarify? thanks.

sam

Yes it does. I put one mk66 with 6k on my camera

Both the cams are prosumer models, thus 1pair of XLR inputs are included and independant volume control.

cool thanks for that....thinking of getting that cam too....:)

How much is the DVX102 now??

should be 3650 w/o gst, i asked 3.8 including gst from videopro before.

Geta DVX 102b. We used that camera, the Sony PD170, and Canon XL2 for a movie shoot recently and the DVX and XL2 produced THE best qualify of the three. The PD170 was my first camera and I must say on hindsight that it is the most overrated, usely, and over-priced prosumer camera I've ever used. Don't get fulled by their DVCAM mode. It doesnt do squatt. Go find Bernard Yam of Hai Chew Electronics Pte Ltd at Sim Lim. Last time I checked (4 months ago) the DVX there was 3800. He's a nice guy too. I bought 60 minidv panasonic tapes from him at one shot.

No, in case you're wondering, I'm not paid to advertise for them :sweat: