SB800 Auto Flash problem with D200, is it common ?

http://gallery.clubsnap.com/data/500/DSC_00241.jpg

Halfway through a wedding shoot yesterday night, I came up with a desperate solution to solve the auto flash problem on my D200. It was so extreme my sb800 keep on flashing & modeling flashing on it's own, so so paiseh, the flash got it's own life.

Manage to stuck 2 pieces of paper at the corner of the hotshoe, resulting in secure locking of my sb800 to d200. Wow ... no more auto flash problem. Flash performance seem to be not affected after a night shoot. I will monitor for some time if this can really solve the problem.

(Just my personal experience to share around with you guys, try it at your own risk):sweat:

Wah.. like that then easy lah.. just use a small hammer to tap the rails down a little should do the trick.. (Do it at your own risk also..;p )

No need hammer, just turn the body upside down and tap the hotshoe against the ground. :bsmilie:
Next time the D300 accessories will include 2 small rectangular pieces of cardboard put inside a small envelope that has written outside "To be opened only in case of dire emergency." -- machiam those old kungfu movies.

DSC_00241.jpg

Halfway through a wedding shoot yesterday night, I came up with a desperate solution to solve the auto flash problem on my D200. It was so extreme my sb800 keep on flashing & modeling flashing on it's own, so so paiseh, the flash got it's own life.

Manage to stuck 2 pieces of paper at the corner of the hotshoe, resulting in secure locking of my sb800 to d200. Wow ... no more auto flash problem. Flash performance seem to be not affected after a night shoot. I will monitor for some time if this can really solve the problem.

(Just my personal experience to share around with you guys, try it at your own risk):sweat:

when did u put the 2 pieces of paper on the hotshoe? how did u find out putting the 2 pieces of paper would end this problem?

i encountered this problem b4, but only ONCE. i thought i released the camera shutter but after seeing this thread........ohhhh

As for how think of this ideal, hmm ... when the table you are using is unbalance, naturally you will find a piece of paper to stuck on one of the leg .. I applied the ideal here as I realise the flash is not locking as securely as it use to be.

Thanks TS, my D200 + SB800 oso same problem but not so frequent, especially, during movement. So I might just try your way and see. I know, i know.. 'at my own risk':)

Thanks for sharing though.:thumbsup:

Anybody also can join?

Anyone can join bro... but no one force you to join hor..... not later kao peh kao mu :bigeyes:...... if service no good..... dun join loh..... :dunno:

hey it says only professional is able to join, if u are not under company, must provide reason.

it is only upon joining and when ur gears are in need of servicing, then u will see how much the NPS actually holds up to their pledge.