Recommend me a small compact range finder.

Hi gurus, I m finding a small compact rangefinder (hopefully $100-$150 range) to substitute my Yashica 35GSN which is too heavy to carry out. Hopefully to find a lighter gear so I can slip it in my pocket to carry ard. The olympus XA sounds good but its like too expensive. Any suggestions?

stnicholas81 said:
Hi gurus, I m finding a small compact rangefinder (hopefully $100-$150 range) to substitute my Yashica 35GSN which is too heavy to carry out. Hopefully to find a lighter gear so I can slip it in my pocket to carry ard. The olympus XA sounds good but its like too expensive. Any suggestions?
get a coloursplash nic.. hahahahaha

I've used a friend's Canonette QL-17 and thought it was wonderful. It's quiet, small, lightweight and gives great results. I've seen them around in the CS forum once in a while, and they usually are in your price range.

This page may be of some use to you: Canonette QL-17 info

bumortic said:
get a coloursplash nic.. hahahahaha

mai la, only got bulb mode~!

the canonet sounds good but i dun really know how heavy it is. Oh well. i will keep a lookout, thnks~!

hey stnicholas

did not see your shanghai photos, leh.

stnicholas81 said:

Save a little longer and get the Ricoh GR1v, never leave home without it. Its a great camera:thumbsup: I have ever used it as a backup:bigeyes: picture comes out superb.

Yes a Ricoh GR1, I have one too, good rangefinder camera.

voightlander Bessa R. with a summicron.

:devil:

jamesong said:
Save a little longer and get the Ricoh GR1v, never leave home without it. Its a great camera:thumbsup: I have ever used it as a backup:bigeyes: picture comes out superb.

What is the price of this cam. really out of my budget man. haha i have always wanted an olympus XA.

ricohflex said:
ok good travelogue
bought any china made camera ?

no ar. never. richoflex, got any good small compact rangefinder to sell me?

I have a canonet QL17 GIII if you are interested.

hi fl chua, how big is the canonet? can give me a rough dimension? also may i know what price are u looking at? tia~!

stnicholas81 said:
What is the price of this cam. really out of my budget man. haha i have always wanted an olympus XA.

When it was in production, Ricoh GR1v was selling at about S$700 brand new. Now, maybe can get 1/2 price in secondhand market?:dunno: Remember the model is 1v ( not 1 or 21 ).

jamesong said:
When it was in production, Ricoh GR1v was selling at about S$700 brand new. Now, maybe can get 1/2 price in secondhand market?:dunno: Remember the model is 1v ( not 1 or 21 ).

On the contrary, the camera is so loved by those in the know that these little gems could be sold at it's production price or maybe even more and people would still buy them. They are so hard to find and those who hold them, don't wish to sell them. Not found often on Ebay or in US, Canadian and UK markets.

A really good quality lens in 35 or 28mm focal length. A hardy body. One has been to one of the poles and has survived very well there and it has a wealth of features that make it logical and user friendly. One was sold on CS awhile ago and it was no surprise that it was snapped up within a few hours.

stnicholas81 said:
hi fl chua, how big is the canonet? can give me a rough dimension? also may i know what price are u looking at? tia~!
The QL-17iii is the same size as your yashica GSN and just as weighty, actually. It's one of the good-old rangefinders, which means solid construction + weight.

I have a few
Canon QL 17 III
120mm long x 75mm high x 30mm thick. Lens stick out 40mm from body.

Canon QL 17 III is about 20% or 30% smaller than Yashica GSN.
I also have a few Yashica electro 35 rangefinders e.g. GT, MG1 same size as GSN.