Places to buy Mics...

gneseew

hi guys...

Have been reading up lots of reviews of mics. Thinking of getting one in singapore... Any place to recommend where I can get to see and touch before buying..

Preferred brands would be :
Rode
Senheiser
AKG
Azden
or any other popular brands that u guys recommend ?

Thanks a lot...
Anyone with experience using those mics, please share with me :) oh.. also do let me know of the price...

hmm u missed out one big name.. that's Shure.. what would u be using it for? for studio recording? instrument? or karaoke? :bsmilie:
for shure u can try swee lee or there's one shop in SLS , can't remember the unit liao.. but make sure to check the price of a few shop .. cos u know SLS la..

For AKG there's a shop at 2nd or 3rd floor of Sim Lim Square, very professional...dun try those ahbeng shops...lest u get cheated to pay alot for some unheard of 'special brands'.

Shure is extremely reliable, rugged and is the premium "preferred" brand of professionals, whether on stage use or for field broadcasting/outdoor interviews...got a whole range of very reliable and "can't go wrong" microphones.

You can get Shure from Swee Lee or from E&E (Electronics & Engineering @ Outram) - the main importer of Shure.

Sennheiser mics sound rather sharp, got the "crystal clear" effect, but sometimes too sharp for some people's preference.

AKG mics...hmm, i had some reliability issues with their otherwise super accurate headphones.

Rode is value for money. Quality is top notch as well. I suggest u visit Hung Brothers located at level3 of Sim Lim Squ. They have almost all the brands u have spoken about but not everything is in stock.

thanks guys for your fast replies...

forgotten to state my purpose of the mic.. I'll be using mostly for wedding and corporate event shoots... so it'll do mostly indoors with some mixture of outdoor

so the common one that goes for my category should be shotgun mics right ?

Seems like most of the shops are in sim lim.... hmm.. good for me

I assume u r using XLR interface. (Eg: Sony Z1, V1, EX1, Canon A1, G1, Pan HVX200, DVX102) If yes, I think Sen ME66 is quite a popular choice but it is $650 range. U can consider Rode NTG2 as well.

If using Stereo (Eg: Sony Fx1, V7, Canon HV30) then Rode Videomic or Stereo Mic is a super value for $ and good choice.

Yes i agree the sennheiser K6 system(one of the module is me66) is a very popular choice.Recently purchased one for school. The sennheiser mkh 70 is also a good choice although a little pricey. I think it mostly depends on what budget u have. Do not forget to add cost of the wind muffler and windshield in when purchasing else u would have a very noisy mic. :)

Hung brothers on 3rd floor at sim lim square stocks most of the brands like Sennheiser, Shure, Audio Technica, Rode, Akg etc..

why not consider a legacy mic, the sennheiser MKH416?

Sound quality is better than the K6 system and the price is quite right too.

Hung bros, 3rd level is the place to go. Ask for Adam.

Have the Rodes NTG & ME66 shotguns.....my advise is go for the ME66, it's a better sounding mic, more distinctive, directional and clearer pickup despite that both's polar pattern are Super cardiod.

MKH416 is definitely a better choice if you're using with seperate boom option, otherwise for cam mounted, ME66's length is quite suitable.

Moreover, if you already have the K6 module, you can just get the ME67 capsule for a lobar pattern pickup for an even more directional pickup.

I heard some comparison of a few mics n I think ME66 is prob the best option. NTG3 is coming up but I'm not sure when.

Yes i agree the sennheiser K6 system(one of the module is me66) is a very popular choice.Recently purchased one for school. The sennheiser mkh 70 is also a good choice although a little pricey. I think it mostly depends on what budget u have. Do not forget to add cost of the wind muffler and windshield in when purchasing else u would have a very noisy mic. :)

Hung brothers on 3rd floor at sim lim square stocks most of the brands like Sennheiser, Shure, Audio Technica, Rode, Akg etc..

Bro mkh 70 super tele mic leh and oso super long... mkh 70 usually use 4 outdoor broadcast e.g sports and concerts not 4 eng mode if eng mode mkh 60 , it's pricey but it's the best mic among all lah , for 416 it;s the best all round mic price wise and ability ,;) , if u can find sony is quite good but mostly available in hongkong

haha quite true :)

hmm... i haven't buy the mic yet... seems to do it .. in these 2 weeks.

Read up a lot on hypercardioid mics.. like Rode NT3 and Oktava012.

My application : Weddings, indoors, events in ballrooms. Most of the time the mic will be mounted on camera as usually I work alone with one camera, so using line in from PA systems is not an option.

now i'm more to the hypercardioid side.. as I think shotgun's sound is too isolated. might lose out on someone beside talking who's not in the frame in the event like wedding.

Please correct me if i'm wrong on the application. As most people suggested shotgun... is it really useful for my case above ?

Does Hung brothers stock on Oktava too ? would be nice to get some info on their pricing. How's much is it ??

Hung Bros has most of the major brands. Like
Rode
Sennheiser
Shure
AKG
Audiotechnica

AKG is distributed by ASI Distribution.
Rode is distributed by Kontakt International.