Need you help on steadicam system

pacifact

I'm considering to buy a steadicam system recently, due to the fact that I know very little about this thing, I really need you guys' help.

I would need a steadicam system (with vest) of any brand which can hold about 6-8kg. My budget is around 3-4k, any brand or model I can go? And where I can actually get it in sg.

In fact, I'm not so tall and strong(well, about 167cm), I'm afraid that the system which is designed for Caucasian is too heavy for me. I'll look like a turtle in the steadicam vest...

Thankz!

Hi pacifact. Welcome to the world of stabilizers. What camera are you looking at using the stabilizer with? The typical weight class is below 5kg. The next step handles up to 7.5kg. I would think the Canon H1 or EX3 would require a larger rig. If u r using DVX100, Z1, EX1, XH-A1 etc, the under 5kg will save u a lot of $$. Just do not overload it with tonnes of accessories.

Price of the latter is about SG$11k region with shipping for the top end units. Otherwise I would recommend the Indicam Pilot. The upgraded arm option will meet your requirement. This is the cheapest yet usable stabiliser I have owned previously. It does the job, but do not expect much about comfort and finishing. Price to SG will be in the region of SG$4200 w/o GST.

I do not recommend the glidecam smooth shooter X10with glidecam2000. glidecam4000 works much better. If u go with the Glidecam4000 the payload would be insufficient for 6kg. The next level will burst your budget

I suggest you stay away from the Indian made Flycam6000+magic arm. The rig seems rather heavy becuz it is made of STEEL!! I have tried the FLycam6000 and it did not impress me.

Lastly, if you are not in a hurry, I suggest you wait for OCt's Iphoto/video. There will be a stabilizer article in there.

Goodluck

Some brands for your research. If you find something out of the brands there, do be careful. You can check out the smooth shooter at Expandore. They are at Sims Drive.

- Tiffen Steadicam
- Glidecam
- Indicam (there is one unit on Ebay now, going at dirt cheap price!)
- Varizoom Flowcam GT

Ok, thaz me in my old indicam rig. Hmm yes, I was doing that during ICT ha ha..
indicam.jpg

I'm considering to buy a steadicam system recently, due to the fact that I know very little about this thing, I really need you guys' help.

I would need a steadicam system (with vest) of any brand which can hold about 6-8kg. My budget is around 3-4k, any brand or model I can go? And where I can actually get it in sg.

In fact, I'm not so tall and strong(well, about 167cm), I'm afraid that the system which is designed for Caucasian is too heavy for me. I'll look like a turtle in the steadicam vest...

Thankz!
actually, if you know the principles of how a steadicam works...you could make one yourself. Not as good or "supported" compared to the commercially available but its practically dirt cheap.

The idea is to see if you actually need a steadicam. In case you get something which is overkill for what you want to do.

here is an example...http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~johnny/steadycam/

Thankz so much guys! The info are very useful, seems I got a lot of homework to do. My cam with 130wh battery is about 5kg(JVC GY HD111E), it's really going to cost me a bomb...

varizoom rig has a prob or 2 it's cg is not properly done but i had tested a new rig called movicam , it's china made but designed by an angmoh damn solid and happening and it's the most comfortable stabilizer rig and the cg is excellent it only take me less than 2mins to balance the whole thing and it's the best i have worn to date... try asking medios i'm sure they will be glad to bring 1 to your office 4 a test run...:)

wow.. u tried a unit locally? Thaz cool. Price must be good for the payload i guess? Any website?

yup Faiz where the place or the website

yah tested it but the load 4 more than 20kg it's gonna cost more than 40k but dun think it's within any of our budgets lah... if u want u can try emailing anthony goh 4 the movicam test lah... sales@mediosassociate.com

wow 40k. That is steadicam range too.

yup2 but including all the accessories zoomand focus servo , iris servo , inverted bracket , green crt actually cheaper than steadicam by 20k.....;)