macro lenses advice - Sigma 105mm 2.8 or Sigma 150mm 2.8?

How close can the Sigma 105mm go? Can it go even closer than what holidaydom has posted? :)

any one bought the 150 sigma from hk b4??... i know sigma stuffs are cheaper there... any one got the px??

I think you can check with Orient Photo in Funan.

They bring in grey sets from HK if I am not mistaken.

Price wise the gray lenses are roughly $200 less than mainstream market prices.

But my advise would be to buy locally to take advantage of the local warrant just in case your Sigma needs any calibration done the road (touch wood).

I think you can check with Orient Photo in Funan.

They bring in grey sets from HK if I am not mistaken.

Price wise the gray lenses are roughly $200 less than mainstream market prices.

But my advise would be to buy locally to take advantage of the local warrant just in case your Sigma needs any calibration done the road (touch wood).

dude.. op is in funan??.. u refering to the one in simlim right??..
u wanna get one too??.. we were itchy for a 105mm some time baq hor... now i cannot resist the temptation for the 150... hee....

btw anyone selling the 150mm sigma can let me know.. i am interested... :)

wah bro, you kena bbb virus jialat jialat isit?

anyway, i tested the 105 at tk foto over the weekend. its a very good performer, nice weight too. gonna test the 150 soon at OP if the grey set they have is still in stock.

dude.. op is in funan??.. u refering to the one in simlim right??..
u wanna get one too??.. we were itchy for a 105mm some time baq hor... now i cannot resist the temptation for the 150... hee....

Sorry - You're right, it's in Sim Lim Square

I already have the 105mm - great lens. :thumbsup:

I tried the 150 and find that the weight and focal length make it more of a challenge to hand hold.

I like shooting fast and so mostly go handheld even for Macros so the 105 suits my style better. (Or maybe I just have weak arms...I'm thinking of getting a monopod soon though...)

Will probably sell the Sigma 105 when Oly releases it's 100mm macro

Thanks for trying to poison me with the 150 but my mind is currently on the issue of the 70-300 vs the 50-200 :bsmilie:

105 or 150mm. I think you must decide on your shooting style.

Yes, 150mm can give you valuable working distance, but at the same time, it is only best tripod mount.

So you must decide, hand held or tripod.

If you want to take up the later, more bbb will follow....:devil:

It take more than 150mm to take good macro. It take lots of commitment.

NatureTTL can spend whole morning on only one subject, which later inspire me to do the same.

wah bro, you kena bbb virus jialat jialat isit?

anyway, i tested the 105 at tk foto over the weekend. its a very good performer, nice weight too. gonna test the 150 soon at OP if the grey set they have is still in stock.

abit haha.. but some how cannot find a cure leh (no one selling the lens i wanna buy!!!), lol...
how much tk selling the 105 btw???.. they dun carry the 150 meh??...

Sorry - You're right, it's in Sim Lim Square

I already have the 105mm - great lens. :thumbsup:

I tried the 150 and find that the weight and focal length make it more of a challenge to hand hold.

I like shooting fast and so mostly go handheld even for Macros so the 105 suits my style better. (Or maybe I just have weak arms...I'm thinking of getting a monopod soon though...)

Will probably sell the Sigma 105 when Oly releases it's 100mm macro

Thanks for trying to poison me with the 150 but my mind is currently on the issue of the 70-300 vs the 50-200 :bsmilie:

manz.... never jio.. haha... kidding... buy both the 70-300 and 50-200 lor... then no need to crack your head liaoz.. haha... hows the 105 so far worz??.. post some pics to show off leh.. :P

abit haha.. but some how cannot find a cure leh (no one selling the lens i wanna buy!!!), lol...
how much tk selling the 105 btw???.. they dun carry the 150 meh??...

tk quoted $690 for the 105. no stock for the 150, will need to place order. anyway they quoted $1050 for the 150.

OP grey set 150 was quoted at $900.

105 or 150mm. I think you must decide on your shooting style.

Yes, 150mm can give you valuable working distance, but at the same time, it is only best tripod mount.

So you must decide, hand held or tripod.

If you want to take up the later, more bbb will follow....:devil:

It take more than 150mm to take good macro. It take lots of commitment.

Allan can spend whole morning on only one subject, which later inspire me to do the same.

getting a macro to shoot butterflies... i think 150 would be more appropriate.. they are very sensitive subjects manz... only worries is my hand shakes... not sure whether e510 IS will help much or not... and pls pls dun tempt me to get an E3... :P

..... only worries is my hand shakes... not sure whether e510 IS will help much or not...
Are you using the E-510 now? If so, did you update to the latest firmware? A few of us here found the IS as well as the AF improved with the update.