Looking for traditional bamboo stool

catchlights

Staff member

Can someone tell me where can I find the bamboo stool looks like this locally?
I'm looking for the type which very commonly seen locally 30~40 years ago, it can use as a baby chair when it turn it side way.

I have seem it some where recently, but can't remember where is it now.

Thanks for reading

Traditional-Stool-Set-on-wh.jpg

maybe chinatown area?

there is one bamboo shop along balestier road ....think I saw one there before.....before the Ah Nan noodle :)

catchlights said:

Can someone tell me where can I find the bamboo stool looks like this locally?
I'm looking for the type which very commonly seen locally 30~40 years ago, it can use as a baby chair when it turn it side way.

I have seem it some where recently, but can't remember where is it now.

Thanks for reading

Traditional-Stool-Set-on-wh.jpg

there's a shop before Peace Centre (after turning out from Adam Road) that sells rattan furniture, i saw that kind of stool there before, but don't know whether still there or not

Thanks guys for your speedy replies..

many many thanks.. :D

Paiseh! made a mistake, i mean Coronation Plaza, NOT Peace Centre, think too fast liao, paiseh paiseh

actually there is one shop at Arab st or Haji lane.

shophouses near Sultan Mosque...:think:

HAHAHAHA
YOU ARE SO IN LUCK!!! jus saw the chair and talking abt it two days ago
spotted one at holland village (near the bouna vista MRT) its a furniture shop near OCBC bank. its near this coffeeshop at the corner of the main road (commonwealth ave the road running alongside teh MRT)
if u need more details pm me..
price i think it was $38 though the auntie might have wildly quoted us as we were looked like browsers ... do tell me what price you get it ... curious

Where TK is, around that complex is a hardware shop, I saw them there too :)

there's one at kallang bahru. behind the kopitiam which has pizza delivery.

joo chiat got mah, near duku rd, just opposite the roti preta shop.

damn....
looks like everywhere also have, how come I didn't notice it?? :confused:

Thanks everybody :)

there's a market hawker opp queenstown S.C and IKEA. facing the market, there's a row of shophouses...over there, there's a shop that sells nothing bout bamboo stuff...cane,chair,table,rolling chair, coffee table....you name it,they have it! I should think their prices are reasonable, situated at HDB area...rent low also..

something extra for you...next to the bamboo show there's a very lod and traditional chinese bakery...their egg tarts are..."drooling..." the shop is call da zong kuo(big china)

cheers

Opposite United Square, there's a row of shophouse. Next to the shop selling Tiong Bahru Pao also have. COnvenient to stop, just park at road side and go in shop.

They have bamboo type as well as rattan one.

I have one at home; the type that can be used as a baby stool. It's about 30 years old and actually recently I wanted to give it away but changed my mind because of the sentimental value.

Thanks everybody for your kind helps. :thumbsup:

I bought one stool today, from the shop alone Balestier Road (9 Balestier Road, near Ah Nan noodle). selling at $33.00, no bargain, cash and carry.

Thanks eveyone again. :)

i used to have one at home. but my mom kept wanting to throw it away. for years, i tried to keep it, but alas it still went a couple of years ago. i think she threw it away when i was not at home :bheart: