Light meter iPhone app for RF

Shahrie

Good day RFers!

Actually this topic should be posted under General Tech Talk or Digital Darkroom but I'm posting it here because I've just acquired an M3 and a collapsible cron 50!! Woooo! But my camera now with Phillip Decamera Consultant going thru a major overhaul.

So another 3 weeks of wait again. Plus, I'm getting an iphone 4 in the next few weeks.

So the question is, is the iphone lightmeter app reliable? I'm a RF & iphone noob so putting these two together, I need your advice. Anyone have been using these apps for taking pictures?

Thanks in advance! And hello RF world! ;)

tried different light meter app for my first roll and it's quite reliable :)

Its reliable.But I shoot a stop down on triX for better contrast.Found my first roll shooting purely on this lightmeter's reading too overexposed.

Thanks guys. I thought of getting myself a proper lightmeter but the hassle of taking it out from the bag everytime I wanna shoot, is too troublesome. At least a phone will always be in my pocket. Is there any LM, small enough for me to hang around my neck, or wear it on my wrist? I'll be damn cool lah.

Iphone light meter is accurate but i dun like using touch screen.

I recommend u get VC meter ii (chiif got sell). Its very small and accurate. U can attach it to m3 hotshoe or stick inside your jeans pocket. You can see the vc meter on on my m3 in my avatar pic.

Of course u can also get a bigass lightmeter. Its not cumbersome if u hang around your neck. Sekonic, goosens make good lightmeters.

Another negative about using a lightmeter app is that you drain battery from the phone. And you know the iPhone is not well known for long battery life.

@artspraken I've seen the VC and I've read reviews. I might consider that but some reviews also said tht it might scratch the top plate. And I don't think I wanna walk ard with a Sekonic LM on my neck. Lol.

@Bravia Is that true? I already have big time probs with my BB batt right now and just sick of my hp died on me. But an app is like any other app, angry bird, twitter etc. But I'll keep my options open.

Thanks guys for entertaining me. I have till June to decide.

VC meter does not scratch top plate lah. u should take a look at how it is built first. If u try it and put it on, u will see it is abt 5mm above the surface of the paint. if u are concerned, then keep the vc meter in your pocket lor

if u dun wanna use meter, then use Sunny16

Using the free app for IPhone, alright in the day, at night, since the phone tries to compensate for it being so dark, you have to shoot 1 or 2 stops lower.

Have a dedicated flash LM also, but sometimes its just convenient to have a backup just in case.

Eh iphone lightmeter cannot be seen under bright sunlight

gossen digisix? can be mounted on hotshoe also.. and quite small and light.. looks like those old school stopwatch, but smaller one..

you can look in google for pictures of how small it is.. fits in the pocket nicely..

Ooohh. The gossen digisix looks nice. Can keep in my pocket. Can consider. Actually, I'm quite comfortable using the sunny 16 rule except for indoors, I'll be lost!
I'll drop by Chiif when I get my M3 back coz I need a halfcase and a silver uv filter. Hope he still has them. I'll try out the VC meter at the same time. It'll be an exciting few weeks for me to go shopping. Haha. And I love the RF community. You guys will never fail to help out each other.

Thanks once again! Can't wait. *Rubbing my palms together*

Actually, I'm quite comfortable using the sunny 16 rule except for indoors, I'll be lost!

Haha! same, lost indoor.. ironic, isn't it? outdoor not so lost, but indoor.. :sweat:
I'm saving for the Digisix now..

All the best! :lovegrin: