Lens testing at 20mm, kit lens vs. KM 29mm f2.8 vs. KM 17-35mm f2.8-4

Eyesthruthelens

Here are some of the tests that I did this evening.. make a guess which lens to column 1, 2 and 3 ;)

at F5.
F5-1.jpg

at F16
F16-1.jpg

power sia , u got 29mm ! :bsmilie:

1: 29mm
2: 20mm
3: 17-35

17-35mm , 20mm, 18-70mm?

got the feeling the answer is too obvious liao....
hence my answer will be diff from the norm...he he:blah:
18-70,17-35,20mm

Actually I was very surprise with the results as well.. not as what I expected..

BTW, the top left and top right items are further away from the Christmas tree.. so it's not a test on the corner sharpness.. rather the OOF effect.

The kit lens is sharp.. but no OOF effect. Got a feeling it's like P&S lens.. exposure/color - more on underexposed side. (Don't know why.. don't really like the photo from this lens..)

20mm - not that sharp.. but I like it.... maybe it's the color and contrast..

17-35mm.. weird OOF (or bokeh)..

Anyway, here is the results: http://www.flickr.com/photos/eyesthruthelens/sets/72157594418388532/detail/

BTW, is there any website that I can download the distortion chart (the one with squares) for lens testing?

okie... :bsmilie:

so it will be
from left to right, 20, 17-35, 18-70

Any answers that is different from the above means that I'll have to revamp my collection again...:bsmilie:

so the correct one is 18-70mm, 20mm 17-35mm..tio bo?
Had play with this kit lens at f3.5 wide last week end....surprising find reasonably sharp。。。
with a bit of sharpening...it will be even better...

BTW, the top left and top right items are further away from the Christmas tree.. so it's not a test on the corner sharpness.. rather the OOF effect.

Phew! Thought you are showing the edge sharpness. :sweat:

Anyway, the 20mm & 24mm are not super sharp at 2.8-4. But they gets much better after that. In fact, the 24mm fare worse than the 17-35 wide open. But still , when it comes to colour, contrast n bokeh, it’s hard to beat the primes.

The kit lens is sharp.. but no OOF effect. Got a feeling it's like P&S lens.. exposure/color - more on underexposed side. (Don't know why.. don't really like the photo from this lens..)

Fully agree with you on this. :thumbsup:

Actually I was very surprise with the results as well.. not as what I expected..

20mm - not that sharp.. but I like it.... maybe it's the color and contrast..

17-35mm.. weird OOF (or bokeh)..

Anyway, here is the results: http://www.flickr.com/photos/eyesthruthelens/sets/72157594418388532/detail/

BTW, is there any website that I can download the distortion chart (the one with squares) for lens testing?
Bro should test bokeh on other further subject :sweat:. But strangely you have a kit lens which is sharp at corner, mine is very soft at corner.