getting a new M9

wltpch

Hi
I am finally ready to take the plunge into RF-dom and get myself a new M9 and probably a lux 35 f1.4 to go with it.
I will be grateful if you could suggest the best sources for these two items.
I am considering the following:
1 buy local
2 buy from HK (will be there this Xmas)
3 buy online
Also would like to know the usual terms of the warranty for Leica items.
Thanks a lot!

LT

My take is buy local .. if you can

That way .. your set is fully "warranted" any tiny issues you can make a big fuss over it :bsmilie:

Not sure about HK prices .. others will provide you this info

Buying online for this item is kind of risky .. for me I only buys lenses online .. at least those that those that is hard to get locally or vintage type
To me the saving over the risk of receiving a lemon that you have to send back to get a refund or send to Germany seems too much trouble for a little saving

Unlike if you shop in HK .. you get to test the 9 first .. do remember this is after all a Digital product .. need I say more ?

Happy Shopping

If you buy 'local' don't need to fix in Germany if anything goes wrong ?

Hi "Lowlights"
Thanks for your kind advice. Could you tell me if there is any difference between the warranty issued by a local authorised dealer and the Leica international warranty? I get confusing info reading some other Leica forums!
I will do the legwork soon around the local shops and gleam more info before making my purchase. There are many "mint/new" M9s in the clubsnap marketplace as well so will have to wade through all the implications(besides pricing alone). Will dearly appreciate all input.
Thanks.

LT

Hi "Lowlights"
Thanks for your kind advice. Could you tell me if there is any difference between the warranty issued by a local authorised dealer and the Leica international warranty? I get confusing info reading some other Leica forums!
I will do the legwork soon around the local shops and gleam more info before making my purchase. There are many "mint/new" M9s in the clubsnap marketplace as well so will have to wade through all the implications(besides pricing alone). Will dearly appreciate all input.
Thanks.

LT

My understanding is .. if your set is a local set the local agent will bear fully responsibility and your gear will be treat with priority

Yes.. Leica are all international warranty .. so the local deal will have to treat the non-locally purchase set too .. but priority might not be there

By priority I mean .. packing and sending off to Germany ..

Of course if you happen to know people over at Solms you can add pressure to the local dealer to act fast.. but this would not be too friendly

I suppose from a business point .. it is justifiable for the dealer to act this way.. as they make money from the local sets.. and of course for those of suckers like us that buy local :bsmilie:

Hi
I am finally ready to take the plunge into RF-dom and get myself a new M9 and probably a lux 35 f1.4 to go with it.
I will be grateful if you could suggest the best sources for these two items.
I am considering the following:
1 buy local
2 buy from HK (will be there this Xmas)
3 buy online
Also would like to know the usual terms of the warranty for Leica items.
Thanks a lot!

LT

Buy local, you have someone to go to face to face if there is any problem, and you will also get invited to the events they have locally. Buying from Hong Kong is also an option. I will only buy online if I have dealt a long time with the online dealer who has a proven track record.

In my case, I bought local, and the set died a few days later because of the card problem. I went back to the shop and insisted that they replace it with another set within 2 weeks. And they did not disappoint. You will have a much longer wait if you bought in HK or or online.

an off-topic intellectual exercise:

How much would you offer a guy who is selling the following:

LEICA M9 with thumbs up NEW BOXED
LEICA SUMMICRON-M f 1:2/28 mm ASPH 6-Bit encoding. NEW BOXED
LEICA SUMMILUX f 1:1.4/35mm ASPH. 6-Bit encoding. EXCELLENT
LEICA NOCTILUX f 1:1/50mm MINT
LEICA SUMMILUX-M f 1:1.4/50mm MINT
LEICA SUMMILUX-M f 1:1.4/75mm NEW BOXED
LEICA APO-SUMMICRON-M f 1:2/90mm ASPH MINT

his buy-it-now price is 32k. But he has a "make offer" button. Check out you-know-where for his listing.

So, taking into the risks consideration of buying online plus 2nd Hand lens + Mint condition, how much would you offer ?

raytoei

My understanding is local schmidt warranty include free shipping to solms germany. This is key difference.

If you dun have schmidt warranty, you still go back to schmidt with your international warranty but schmidt will make you pay for shipping to solms germany.

Legally, the principal party granting the international warranty to customer is leica solms germany. But solms international warranty dun cover shipping so question is how you get your camera to solms. This is where singapore Schmidt comes in. If your warranty is from schmidt as distributing agent of leica they cover the shipping.

Buying online got one clear advantage, it is much cheaper. You benefit from strong SGD. If u travel and buy overseas tax free you also save on gst and import duties. All this add up to approx 1k for m9 if you compare with local list price.

Buy local, you have someone to go to face to face if there is any problem, and you will also get invited to the events they have locally. Buying from Hong Kong is also an option. I will only buy online if I have dealt a long time with the online dealer who has a proven track record. disappoint. You will have a much longer wait if you bought in HK or or online.

I bought my m9 local but never get invited to any event and i am sibeh pissed off

an off-topic intellectual exercise:

How much would you offer a guy who is selling the following:

LEICA M9 with thumbs up NEW BOXED
LEICA SUMMICRON-M f 1:2/28 mm ASPH 6-Bit encoding. NEW BOXED
LEICA SUMMILUX f 1:1.4/35mm ASPH. 6-Bit encoding. EXCELLENT
LEICA NOCTILUX f 1:1/50mm MINT
LEICA SUMMILUX-M f 1:1.4/50mm MINT
LEICA SUMMILUX-M f 1:1.4/75mm NEW BOXED
LEICA APO-SUMMICRON-M f 1:2/90mm ASPH MINT

his buy-it-now price is 32k. But he has a "make offer" button. Check out you-know-where for his listing.

So, taking into the risks consideration of buying online plus 2nd Hand lens + Mint condition, how much would you offer ?

raytoei

May I suggest that if you are buying this whole lot of things, it may be worthwhile to fly there to pick them up :)

You may want to call the marketing chaps and give them your details. May be miscomms.:)

Dont think its a miscom. I had also bought it locally with no invitation whatsoever. Also had to write to LFI as my subscription took 3 months and 3 e-mails before it arrived.

May I suggest that if you are buying this whole lot of things, it may be worthwhile to fly there to pick them up :)

yea for a 32k transaction, the cost of plane ticket is justified.

I bought my m9 local but never get invited to any event and i am sibeh pissed off

No kidding, I have bought 5 cameras and about 10 lenses from Schmidt Singapore in the last 12 months alone and all of them are registered and I don't get invited to any events.

BUT the support is amazing. If I had to pick between marketing or support. I will go with support, that is all that matters.

Hi guys
Tks! Can check if anyone has any experience sending in their M9s using their Leica International Warranty? Any hassles going thru Schmidt? Tks again.

Loong tat

Why not get it locally and meanwhile get to know the local agent better.

With the many problems the M9 is facing now it would be wise to spend a little more for a local set, and if (touch wood) its sent for servicing I'm sure the local guys would be faster in sending it to Solms.

How much does a local M9 cost now?
And how much does a local M8 cost now?
M9 worth the price difference over M8?

How much does a local M9 cost now?
And how much does a local M8 cost now?
M9 worth the price difference over M8?

Check the B&S, quite a few units of M9 & M8, a little search would answer all your questions

actually got alot of M9 available nowadays. its no longer short of supply

aiyah, want M9? ask me lah. got new one, got mint one, also got used one. got black one, got gray one, also got titannium one.