Fuji 645GA

denniskee

Anyone used it before, hows the picture quality whan compare to using prime lens?

?? 35mm prime lens?

the GA645 (and the later model the GA645i) uses a prime lens also wat. some call it the texas leica. i have no complaints about my copy.

by virtue of the larger format it's also easier to view the larger slides + incredible detail when scanning / enlarging.

no lar, i mean 645 prime.

i am asking because the 645ga uses a fixed zoom lens.

i have this concern because even for 135 format, nowaday i very seldom use zoom lens. 95% of the time i use prime lens. i saw the diff when view with slide projector.

you looking at a GA645zi i presume... that one has a zoom lens (variable max aperture i think... never used it before). so i don't know exactly how it stacks up against its fixed lens counterparts.

you can try fujirangefinder.com for images shot with fuji rangefinders, incl. the GA series.

Just some personal input ...

well, i own 3 of the fuji rangefinders and use them a lot for traval photog...

For the GA645zi, the one with the zoom... i find it the most versatile in terms of shooting and composing thanks to the zoom, but do be careful of the variable aperture, and the flash which doesn't light things up beyond 3 meters.

I'm also using the GA645W with the fixed 45 f4 lens. and an older GS645 with a 60f4 but manual, and well.. i tend to like the latter more, as it's fully manual, and the detail the 60 f4 gives seems sharper with more contrast... just my personal preference.

The GA645W has terribly noisy film transport, with the zi coming in 2nd.

but all in all.. all 3 cameras are cheap and produce images that will STUN u and make your friends with 1dmk2s etc etc drool..

:sweatsm:

:thumbsup: the fellow from whom i bought my copy had a few sets of the same model - must have been a real fan. i'm still keeping mine.

actually i also thought before that it would be really nice if Fuji can come up with a digital version of the GA series.

I got both the GA645i & GA645Zi cameras.

The diff between the GA645i & GA645 is there is an extra horizontal trigger button when u shoot the portrait position. "i" also represent that the camera will self detect the ISO rating of any fuji film that you load into the camera. Note, only works for Fuji films.

This camera comes in five variations, four of which are essentially similar.

— GA645 has a 60mm f/4 lens

— GA645W is the same as above but has a 45mm f/4 lens

— GA645i is similar to the GA645, except that it also has a second shutter release and barcode reader for Fuji medium-format films (it automatically sets the film speed)

— GA645Wi is the same as above, but with the 45mm lens.

— GA645Zi has a 55-90mm zoom lens and is dolled up to look like a Contax G.

For the GA645Zi, it's a versatile zoom in medium format. But the focussing can be slow and need some getting used to as they may not focus on the area that you desire, so do look at the distance scale in the EVF to check. Some extracts from the fuji site:

http://www.fujifilm.com/home/press/pr_ga645zi.htm

I don't work for Fuji!!!

Main Features of the Fujifilm GA645 Zi Professional 1.6x High Performance Zoom Lens The F4.5/55mm to F6.9/90mm zoom lens of the Fujifilm GA645 Zi Professional corresponds to a 34-to-56mm zoom in the 35mm format. Zoom action is quick and easy thanks to a smooth zoom lever. The zoom viewfinder linked to lens zoom action always shows actual picture area and has automatic parallax compensation. Super EBC Fujinon Zoom Lens Fujifilm's original Super-EBC (Electron Beam Coating) dramatically reduces unwanted reflections and glare. Superior sharpness extends into the far image corners, while even light distribution delivers brilliant, true-to-life colors for an overall picture quality of truly professional standards. Hybrid Autofocus The GA645 Zi is equipped with both infrared active and passive systems and automatically selects the most suitable method for the prevailing lighting condition. It responds swiftly to moving objects for quick, successive shooting. Users can switch to Manual Focus for unlimited control of focus settings. The Next Evolution in the Fujifilm Barcode System The GA645 Zi Professional incorporates an advanced version of Fujifilm's breakthrough Barcode System. Features include: キ Automatic Pressure Plate Change for 120/220 Films -- The film barcode scanner in the GA645 Zi Professional automatically distinguishes 120 and 220 roll film, and switches the pressure plate for optimum flatness. Manual switchover is available for film without the barcode logo.

キ Automatic Film Speed Setting -- The Barcode scanner reads film speed and adjusts camera settings automatically. Manual override is possible as well.

キ Automatic Film Advance -- Film is wound forward to the first frame automatically. There's no need to watch for the frame marking; a buzzer sounds when the film is at the last frame.

The Fujifilm GA645 Zi also features a new Slow Synchro AE mode that permits flash synchro with slow shutter speeds, so there's no shutter speed limitation when using the built-in flash. The camera also features a large, backlit LCD so professionals can see vital information at a glance, even in the dark. A lens cap sensor warns when the lens cap is still on, and the viewfinder has a built-in eyesight compensation. In addition, Fujifilm's GA645 Zi Professional comes in a sophisticated titanium body that is lightweight, strong and highly resistant to shock and corrosion.

See the below url for more info. Hope it helps.

http://www.dantestella.com/technical/ga645.html

BTW, if u have not known, the Fujinon EBC lens used in the GA 645 series cameras are the same lens systems that are used in the Hasselblad H1 & Xpan camera lenses. So, for Hasselblad to be willing to use a Japanese lens in place of the usual Carl Zeiss or German lens, u can expect very high quality image from the EBC lenses.

Bro Jeffery, you have become a Expert in Fuji rangefinders liao ;)

Its good to have the Fuji rangefinder, especially for travel assignments. I have owned the GS645, GA645i, GA645Wi and GA645Zi previously. The image quality from the 645Wi beats the Zi one. If you can get hold of the Manual GS version, its even better! and you can use it to take street photogrpahy without attracting too much attention. Use a warmer slide film as the lens tends to be cooler.

Because of the high quality of these rangefinders, I was very convinced on getting the 680 series medium format cameras at one time, which is very popular in Vietnam and we can purchase it at a fraction of the original cost directly from Japan as they are clearing stock in places like Vietnam. Trust me, the commercial output from the fuji medium format cameras is awesome and there is no reason why the "earlier Fujinon lenses" cannot be compared to schneider or zeiss, which I am using at the moment.

jcryan55 said:
I got both the GA645i & GA645Zi cameras. ......................

BTW, if u have not known, the Fujinon EBC lens used in the GA 645 series cameras are the same lens systems that are used in the Hasselblad H1 & Xpan camera lenses. So, for Hasselblad to be willing to use a Japanese lens in place of the usual Carl Zeiss or German lens, u can expect very high quality image from the EBC lenses.

If I am not mistaken, the TV broadcasting stations in Japan use Fujinon lenses.

ricohflex said:
If I am not mistaken, the TV broadcasting stations in Japan use Fujinon lenses.

The Broadcasting dept within my company use Fuji's EBC and nikkor lenses too. :thumbsup:

The focusing mechanism of this plastic monster is alarmingly noisy, gives the film advance motor a good fight in the noise department. I can't imagine shooting with this body in a quiet museum. Other than that the results looks pretty good. The fujinon lenses have always been well regarded and the 60mm on the 645 is no exception.

Terence said:
The focusing mechanism of this plastic monster is alarmingly noisy, gives the film advance motor a good fight in the noise department. I can't imagine shooting with this body in a quiet museum. Other than that the results looks pretty good. The fujinon lenses have always been well regarded and the 60mm on the 645 is no exception.

Yup.. the GA series of cameras are noisy and irritating in that aspect...
Thus I prefer the GS... though got no AF, it's quiet and convenient to use. :)

Guys... by any chance you know anyone who's got a Fuji GSW 690 III and looking to sell?

Thanks!

-mb

mulberrybay said:
Guys... by any chance you know anyone who's got a Fuji GSW 690 III and looking to sell?

Thanks!

-mb

er ok...

i know a few ppl selling, but here in usa leh... will ask them if they want to ship to singapore k?

If you don't mind Ebay, there's one HERE

Shipping should be about 10-15 sterling pound and he takes paypal.

Terence said:
If you don't mind Ebay, there's one HERE

Shipping should be about 10-15 sterling pound and he takes paypal.

I was bidding for another item on ebay.. but got outbidded... suay suay this month $$ too tight.. cannot bid higher... :( been waiting since last year for the GSW 690 III series to "appear"... :what:

-mb

F5user said:
er ok...

i know a few ppl selling, but here in usa leh... will ask them if they want to ship to singapore k?

Wah.. you got lobang let me know k? If price is right.. will be glad to buy it.. but I'll need to know condition too..

Thanks! :)

-mb

I have been using my boss' GA645Zi Professional to shoot recently. He bought it in Japan so it only comes with Japanese manual. Didn't know this camera has so many functions, I just use it like a point and shoot camera!

Jeff, you know where to get the original Fujinon cap in sg? I drop it into Singapore River... u can see what a 'pro' photographer I am!

Are we able to find any GA645Wi brand new in Singapore? How are the prices like? ;)

I have one in excellent condition for sale. Came with the photocopy manual. The condition is 9/10. The picture quality is superb. Very sharp even at 12' x 16" or bigger. My pictures taken with this camera were used to auction during charity sales to raise fund. The quality of the pictures produced beats any rival camera flat. I am willing to let go for a price of S$3,150.00 because i want to upgrade to Mamiya 7 II . I am in KL and anyone interested can PM me. Thanks.