Free Photos Requests

CanonUser

notice that lots of photo requests from models from clubsnap people. two usual storys:

1. photographers pay model for shoot, model ask photographer to giv photos.

2. photographers take models during shows (The Face show) and models all register to come in to ask for photos.

first story: are photographers being used? pay to shoot and models still ask for photos? then why not do TFP? double benefit, earn $ and get photos.

second story: if models can ask photographers to giv free photos of what they took during the show, can photographers ask models to model for free (and dont have to giv photos) too?

are photographers putting too little value on their own work, givin them free just because a pretty girl asks for them?

CanonUser said:
notice that lots of photo requests from models from clubsnap people. two usual storys:

1. photographers pay model for shoot, model ask photographer to giv photos.

2. photographers take models during shows (The Face show) and models all register to come in to ask for photos.

first story: are photographers being used? pay to shoot and models still ask for photos? then why not do TFP? double benefit, earn $ and get photos.

second story: if models can ask photographers to giv free photos of what they took during the show, can photographers ask models to model for free (and dont have to giv photos) too?

are photographers putting too little value on their own work, givin them free just because a pretty girl asks for them?

In the first place, can we trust who they say they are ?

those photographers you mentioned, i believe a large number of them are NOT professionals, that is, hobbyists or serious amateurs.

give and take lah.

of course, if you are a professional and place a certain value on your work, there's no such thing as giving away pictures for free.

more like giv and giv, not giv and take. can photographers ask this models for no strings attach free shoot too?

Stereobox said:
those photographers you mentioned, i believe a large number of them are NOT professionals, that is, hobbyists or serious amateurs.

give and take lah.

of course, if you are a professional and place a certain value on your work, there's no such thing as giving away pictures for free.

You want to give, give.

Dun want to give, dun give.

They prob dun earn money from it and just its a hobby for some. They got people to appreciate what they have done, maybe that`s reward enough for them. Must you always receive something material in return? They ask for pic, ok print 2-3 for them and give them a copy of the others on a CD. Dun see what`s there to hoohaa about.

If you pay for the model shoot, why cant you consider it part of the costs as well? Just factor it in as part of the transport and food costs then. same thing just print a few and give the rest on a CD.

Another thread suaning pple ???? :think:

TMC said:
You want to give, give.

Dun want to give, dun give.
i think that basically sums it up.

nothing's to stop anyone from asking anything. free speech? but u have every right to refuse to give something that belongs to you to anyone.

maybe a point in contention is: if you say NO i dun wanna give (politely, becos being polite is always nice!) will the model be unhappy, even angry?

i would think not lar (since she didn't pay for the photos) but.. well like i said, could that be a point for contention?

Basic courtesy .. if they ask polietly. I dun see anything wrong if I am to give them photos .... I have even enlarged up to 20 inches x 30 inches photo and gave to models, of course the images must worth it for enlargement!

Should have this thread compared to another thread 'requests' photos in a different ways and see how it reacts.

And to quote : Giving without asking for returns ... you enjoys a more fruitful life.

yea lor, personally i don't see whats the big hoohaa about certain ppl giving away free things.

it's not like they are spoiling market or what. like i said, professionals do things differently. no big deal.

I also don't see a very strong reason for the unhappiness with giving away free prints, CD, and time (photographer's and model's). Not every engagement of a model or photographer has to be $$ motivated.

If it's a professional photographer or model who does photography or modeling for a living, then perhaps it tends to be $$ motivated. Even then, some professionals forgo $$ if there is a mutual benefit. I know of professional models who forgo their charges to work with an elite photographer so that their portfolios can benefit from having unusually good work.

It all boils down to the individual, or the 2 individuals involved.

There are hobbyists who can't even bear to charge people for doing their portraits. Sometimes I feel that way too.

Also, people/portrait photography is quite personal, and can sometimes help build public relations and strong social circles if it wasn't transacted as a profit-making business.

Don't see much point for this thread actually.

The models who make a request for photos here in CS do so in a polite manner & do not demand for it. And from a newbie perspective, it is actually flattering that someone appreciates a photo that you took & helps boost your confidence further & encourages you to learn more.

If the photog deems his/her photos are not free, then decline politely. No need to kick up a big fuss, etc.

Not everything that one does need to result in a personal gain.

two thinks to consider:

1. if models get paid and get photos, TFPs will go the way of the dodo as models will start to expect to get photos for her portfolio
along with $.

2. if givin photos freely becomes the norm, those who may not wish to give photos because they already paid to shoot will look like the "bad guy" because it becomes normal practice to giv, which is weird becos it is should be a bonus to get photos and not the oter way round.

i tink juz give and take lo....no obligation to return the photos on paying photogs side...buten if out of goodwill wanna give then i belive is individual choice.....

cheers...

Let meow meow to say a few words ..... hehe
Well ... if you appreaciate your model to pose for you for the whole day, you might want to give them some free photo ? :)

But dun forget, if you have paid the organiser at least $80 or more ... for the photoshot, then why you still come out money to print photo for the model? Why dun ask the organiser to pay for the print and give to the model? :bsmilie:

For example, IF someone from this lab organise a swimwear photo shot ... well, the models are his who lar, neice lar, sister lar , friends lar ... then the MUA also his auntie lar ... then collect $100 from each hobbyists lar ... then 24 hobbyists took part lar .... therefore that organiser make $2400 in this project. Then if you want to print out photo, can go his lab, have discount lar ... :bheart:

OKOK .... back to today topic, so if the model want the photo, can go ask from the organiser lor, the organiser can BUY back a set of photo from the hobbyists if they want. But soft copy ... sorry, cannnot give you ... :lovegrin:

Why want to spent $$$ to take photo ? Can go to the street look for cat, dog, ask your classmates, friends mah ... hehe ..... then if you appreaciate your friends help, then print them photo lor .... if appreaciate the cat for so patiently be your model, then get her a fishcake lor ... haha ... then this is call WIN-WIN situation ... :thumbsup:

Wake up meow ... time to catch mouse now .... =)