Disappointed with NSC

I am generally very pleased with the service NSC has provided so far but my latest experience is not so good. :(

After going down for servicing on 12th of Aug, they informed me that the spare part required for my lens is not available. It will take 3 weeks to have the spare part ordered from Japan. I thought that was fine and didn't make any fuss about it.

I called back 1 month later and still no stock. Yesterday I got another call from NSC to tell me that it will take another 1 month to get the part. :angry: That was the last straw. As you can tell, I wasn't a happy customer on the phone.

That will mean it takes close to 3 months to get my lens (under warranty) repaired. :thumbsd: It shouldn't take so long to get a spare part in especially since my lens (24-70mm) is a fairly new model.

And since it's my only lens, my D700 will be sitting alone in the dry cabi....

:complain:

I think this is unacceptable and very disappointing for me. Hopefully, this feedback will reach someone from Nikon and it won't happen to anyone else.

Agree... unacceptable! Not the kind of service we would expect from Nikon. :nono:

../azul123

It happen to me as well.
Sent my D80 for repair few weeks ago, got the quotation after a week and stating that need 10 working days to repair.
After 10 working days passed, not ready, excuse given " major repair ", ask for estimated date ready, " next week ".
After another week, called them again, same answer, estimated date ? Same , " next week " !!
:dunno:

It happen to me as well.
Sent my D80 for repair few weeks ago, got the quotation after a week and stating that need 10 working days to repair.
After 10 working days passed, not ready, excuse given " major repair ", ask for estimated date ready, " next week ".
After another week, called them again, same answer, estimated date ? Same , " next week " !!
:dunno:

This is horrible! How can they serve the customers this way! :think:

worse is when u call them, they dun answer the phone. after waiting for several minutes, they shoot me to the voicemail where i left my name, problem and contact number but they dun call back.

we are not D3 users ! see us no up :angry:?

I 've used Nikon since i started photography but the ONE thing i really hate is the cost of out-ot-warranty equiment. Last month i sent my old ( 4yrs++) 17-35mm f2.8 lens coz there's a screeching sound in the motor that needed repair n imagine my surprise ( understatement of coz:bigeyes:) when they quoted me S$800++!!!!! That;s atronomical ! Just for a an AF motor-walau eh. Bo bian have to carry on with the repair as dunno who else can repair my beloved lens for me :sweat:
Now i still feel the heart ache for paying over $800! Err don't flame me for being stingy hor hehe

I 've used Nikon since i started photography but the ONE thing i really hate is the cost of out-ot-warranty equiment. Last month i sent my old ( 4yrs++) 17-35mm f2.8 lens coz there's a screeching sound in the motor that needed repair n imagine my surprise ( understatement of coz:bigeyes:) when they quoted me S$800++!!!!! That;s atronomical ! Just for a an AF motor-walau eh. Bo bian have to carry on with the repair as dunno who else can repair my beloved lens for me :sweat:
Now i still feel the heart ache for paying over $800! Err don't flame me for being stingy hor hehe

Err....if i were u i wont repair. May as well buy new one...

no la-paid $800++ for repairs ;pn sell for $300! Hehe unless i'm super drunk or something

they may loan you a lens as a NSC member.

Go and write in to nikon japan, u can be 100% sure they will give u an extra D700 as compensation for the wait.

we are not D3 users ! see us no up :angry:?

Not true...i sent my D1X for cleaning last time and somehow dunno why kena screwed.....when my D1X came out after like 15-20 min i hook up a lens and try it out to my HORROR i saw a hairline crack in my view, i quickly ask the frontdesk what is this and he go back in ask someone i guess and then came back telling me its already there when i sent in, i was STUNNED, i just hook up a lens yesterday and never see the prominent hairline crack.
They tell me the pentaprism blah blah need to change and cost me $70+ and i think 15-20+ for the cleaning. I was like dunno what to do and i guess saving my D1X is more important on my mind at that time and agreed to it.

When i came home, i think for a while then some questions start to come up.

Why the frontdesk never alert me about the crack when they do a brief inspection

Why the technician never alert me of the crack , I mean they must hook up a lens to inspect to see the after cleaning for effect. Anyway i think even without a lens, just pointing to a light u will be able to see the hairline crack.

I'm pretty sure 2 days before sending in i had usd it for shoots and pretty sure i did not drop or knock my D1X so how did the crack got there.

I was then wondering whether the technician screwed up and pass down the repair cost to me ;(

Another time back at the old service centre location i also kena another incident, send in my D1X for firmware upgrade and came back my small rubber cap for the remote interface was gone. I insist and tell them its there before i sent it in (i am very very sure coz if its not there the silver part will be expose and so obvious from the D1X black body) and the front desk then look around the floor trying to find it and fail then after sometime 1 nice frontdesk then dunno took from where and give it to me.

i only send in 2 times and 2 times bad experiences.

next time pls thorughly check your stuff before sending in and if possible ask the frontdesk to check everything is fine before proceed do stuff that may touch senstive part of the camera.

Very disappointed with NSC too, my D300 is hang during April 08, less than a month i brought it. The ppls in NSC said the main board was burn and beyond repair. Just return to me and tell me it wouldn't be cover by warranty because it might be caused by moisture.

The following day when i try to restart my D300 again, everything back to normal and there are no problem until today. Went down to NSC to confront about it and they just don't bother.

Very disappointed with NSC too, my D300 is hang during April 08, less than a month i brought it. The ppls in NSC said the main board was burn and beyond repair. Just return to me and tell me it wouldn't be cover by warranty because it might be caused by moisture.

The following day when i try to restart my D300 again, everything back to normal and there are no problem until today. Went down to NSC to confront about it and they just don't bother.

Nowadays the technicians are not really good e.g for notebook many companies just adopt a which part spoil change which part policies and never bother to do abit of troubleshooting. Got once send in a notebook for repair and its out of warranty and told me system board need to change - cost like 1/2 the price of the notebook which i think i rather go buy a new one, then go send in to a 3rd party repair shop, job done at less than $100. So u can see things that are out of warranty don't bother go back service centre, sometimes 3rd party can get job done at a low low charge.

what do you mean 'they don't bother'?

Call them, went down to look for them, but they just smile smile.

Ask them what if the problem arise again, they said they can't do anything.

Tell them my camera is less than 1 months old, they offer me a replacment camera, but i must paid S$1900 and return them my so call "beyond econimcal repair" D300.

From that day onward, very disappointed with them......don't tell me to change systems as i got 3 body + more than ten lenses, unless i kena 3 million toto.

Honestly Nikon service centre cannot make it, coming from a nikon friend who is a professional;, his lens or body was with the svc centre for a very long time, for reason there is no spare part available. The centre keep on delaying until my friend send them his lawyer's letter and the following week, he got his gear back...lolz
Nikon might made great bodies and lenses...but their after-sale service really pale in comparison to their competitors

Hopefully, Nikon's management in Japan and Singapore is reading this thread. If not, could someone who has access to Nikon's management please inform them.

Maybe because they know once we buy their equipment, we are somehow kena stuck and very difficult for us to change systems.......

I've been using Nikon stuffs since 1978, and they still gave customers the "same old stories." Pity you bro. Hopefully your lens will be ready for the next "few months". FYI a friend of mine sent his Nikon D200 to clean it's sensor (dust particles) and it takes 1 month plus. Just imagine that......:thumbsd: