Canon LTM50 F1.2 issues

Daikoku

Have a question and tried asking Mr.Google
but somehow didnt get a very clear answer..
Hope some gurus can help shed some light

Canon LTM 50 F1.2
at close to minimum focusing distance
wide open aperture
no ( or not significant to notice) focus shift
shooting on a ZI

Same Canon LTM 50 F1.2
at close to minimum focusing distance again
same wide open aperture
focus correct on patch, picture come out focus shift to rear alittle
shooting on a friend's M8
check again shoot at infinity is like totally out
need turn back the focus alittle
but didnt try infinity on the ZI

Qn: is there a way to tune thie LTM 50 to focus correctly on M8?
as in like tune the lens? because if tune M8, will it be focus correct
when using other lens?
cos ZM50, cron35ASPH, cron35 IV all turn out focus spot on correct

any comments?
:think:

i faced the same problem as well when i use the 50mm on the rd1s. no problem using it on my m6 and no focus problem with other fast lens on the rd1s. only the canon f1.2.

though i no longer owns a drf. i would like to be enlightened on this too....

Hi, I am no guru, but hope I can be of help.

I had the same problem shooting my fast lens, they all back focus a little on close distance on my M8 when my crons and others are ok. Turn out that my M8 is off.

What I did was, with my fast lens, I turn to infinity and focus on the furthest subject I can find (example, the moon). To my surprise, my focusing patch registered a double image, it means that even though I have focused to infinity on a distant object, my focus patch is off, registering a out-of-focus when it should be in focus.

What I did next is described here;

http://www.l-camera-forum.com/leica-forum/leica-m8-forum/13933-new-backfocus-thread-solution.html

It is actually very simple, no need to dismantle anything, no need to open any screws, just turn the nut there a little with a 2mm allen key.

Now, my lens is spot on, except for a Hex 60 1.2 which is still back focusing a wee bit, about 2 cm, which seems to be common for a Konica.

Hope this helps.

i shoot all my lens on a focusing chart.. that way, i know how much is off.

just remember how much to plus or minus..

u must make friend with the gears.:)

I had a Canon 1.2 LTM that was experienced focus shift on the R-D1s when shooting wide open. I basically learnt to recognise the offset from the double image to identify when the focus point should be in order to compensate for the focus shift. Its quite easy once you get the hang of it.

canon 50/1.2 being LTM, it would need a LTM to M adapter for it to be used on M-cameras. Since it's back/front focus, one could either adjust the RF cam on the M camera (not hard to do, BUT then you risk creating new focusing problems for your other M lenses), or, try using another LTM - M adapter. I have 3 different adapters and their thickness vary a wee bit. How knows, you may be lucky enough to find a perfect match.

Of course there is a "better" solution: send the canon 50/1.2 to DAG. Sure to work, but it could be a $500 + 3-months-wait kind of solution.

Just my 1 peanut.

YOL

Thanks guy for the answers...
the LTM50 at infinity on my friend's M8, rf patch is aligned
but image on display is not in focus
so looks like is a complete focus range shift

plus i kinda think of getting M8 to use with the LTM50
to do some people and fashion work
cant possibly offset the focus every shot
sure die and already too many things to watchout for
This time i think really problem
scarly tune the M8 then the rest of the lens off then largi siao liao

anyone else have any other suggestions?

Dun use M8 lar = not a way out cos using dslr like dun have the feel

Dun use LTM50 lar = then? Noct? no money ...

so tricky, tricky, tricky...my rf brudders
:dunno::dunno::think:

If all your other lenses are ok; I would not suggest adjusting the camera.

This problem of yours is pretty common and that's the reason why Mr Benny has so many copies of the 50/f1.2.... :bsmilie:

There were many theories surrounding the mystery and each solution gives different result on different copies of lens. Hence, scientific solutions don't actually solve this strange phenomenon of the 21st Century...

Well... after saying so much rubbish... :bsmilie: I have one solution for you...

If you want to use it for work, where focus accuracy is important and want that OOF background look, shoot with G1.

Well, I am sure many die hard M8 fans will throw rotten eggs and start cursing at me and say the G1 is nothing but a point and shoot and no feel....

But before you make the comment yourself, get a copy and try out for at least 2 hours and fully understand the camera and how to focus efficiently and effectively.

It's no means as fun or fast and intuitive as the RF, but focusing is 100% (if not 99.99%) accurate on the EVF or Live View.

Sensor wise, might not be as "good" as the M8, but you can shoot raw and do the relevant tweaks to make it look as good as any D series professional DSLR.

Well... if all else fails... shoot with film lah... save all the money for another trip to Japan! :bsmilie:

gommy - thats what i thought too

chiif - got to give the G1 some thought then...looks like bo pian liao...besides,
" shoot with film lah... save all the money for another trip to Japan! " is a very sound idea..:D

bro,
from what I understand, its the m8 that is giving the problem. your lens is perfectly fine. sensor is too flat. Having spoken to philip tay on this issue before. He dont recommend anyone touch the lens else they wouldnt focus correct on other bodies after calibration, only can use on that single m8 alone :dunno:

m8 is seriously flawed. thanks to the "extras" they add on the sensor

If all your other lenses are ok; I would not suggest adjusting the camera.

Well said.

Look for other options lor. Konica has a 50mm f/1.2, as do Fujinon, Zunow or the Nokkor 50mm f/1.1. And if all else fails on the M8, surely the Noct can do the job. :bsmilie:

I do have one copy of the Canon 50mm f/1.2 LTM optimised for M8. It does not focus well on the R-D1.

Cheers,

m8 is seriously flawed. thanks to the "extras" they add on the sensor

So I gather you won't be adding that to your stash of gear? :bsmilie:

Despite it's various short comings (which is fiercely defended by it's loyalists), the M8 has it's charms and it much readily available than the only other digital alternative. Besides, it has so many color options!

For me, Leica is great at optics and all things mechanical. The only decent Leica digital cameras are those made in Japan!

Cheers,

Well I don't have the Canon 50/1.2. The CV version was great, except a little soft wide open. My M8 went totally out of whack and had to go on a 10 weeks holiday in Germany. Now the CV is performing like it never did before. The CV is painfully sharp even wide open. I would suggest the M8 needs a little adjusting.

DoveVadar - I love film too much.. will never take any risk to "screw up" (pun intended) calibration on other bodies... :)

benny - SG pools didnt take up my proposal to them to sponsor me a Noct leh
also dun have $ to keep twp LTM50 lah...

bernards - CV 50F1.5 is a very very good value for $ lens...i use to have one..

looks like still film is the best...grain, smell of D76 and all the other beautiful qualities..

Well, I wouldnt mind a digital rangefinder for pre-location shoot. Its small, quiet and you get pics instantly ;) Im seriously considering 1 for this purpose. but maybe not leica (for such a price!) Im looking forward to the japan counter attack on digital rf.

and I dont have alot of gear lah. haha. alredy very streamline liao. selling all my P6s!! lelong lelong!

So I gather you won't be adding that to your stash of gear? :bsmilie:

Despite it's various short comings (which is fiercely defended by it's loyalists), the M8 has it's charms and it much readily available than the only other digital alternative. Besides, it has so many color options!

For me, Leica is great at optics and all things mechanical. The only decent Leica digital cameras are those made in Japan!

Cheers,

ya loh. agreed. best is to try on another m8 or 8.2 and see how. anything fishy, sell it straight. with digital, u r losing $ everyday....

DoveVadar - I love film too much.. will never take any risk to "screw up" (pun intended) calibration on other bodies... :)

looks like still film is the best...grain, smell of D76 and all the other beautiful qualities..

Well, I wouldnt mind a digital rangefinder for pre-location shoot. Its small, quiet and you get pics instantly ;) Im seriously considering 1 for this purpose. but maybe not leica (for such a price!) Im looking forward to the japan counter attack on digital rf.

and I dont have alot of gear lah. haha. alredy very streamline liao. selling all my P6s!! lelong lelong!

Aiyoh... So many of us are waiting for it. The Japanese keep flogging the same Epson R-D1 and it's 2 comestic variants. If Leica can do it, so can they.

Anyway, look like the market is just not big enough for a digital RF to be a profitable venture. I do hope something is in the pipeline though. Niche products do have their places in the market. Till then, film is best and the current digital RF cameras are used to test lens focus and alignment. :bsmilie: Just joking! Digital users don't flame me!!

Cheers,

p.s. I do know that there's a minty Epson R-D1s with a Hexanon 50m f/2 going for around 2.5K.... Dump the Hexanon and you'll have a sub 2K digital RF!! Still cheaper than a 3.2K used M8.

It's at Prime- just saw it 2 hours ago:)

I was refering the Nokton f1.2. Accuracy problems should be roughly the same as the Canon version.