Canon EOS SLR system NEWBIE guide.

MS Color (Main) is going at 1363 for CC payment - 18-55mm kit, tripod, cumpler, screen protector,8gb SD

I'm thinking of getting 7D kit I (15-85IS USM) , plus EF S55-250 IS lens. I like to take picture of family, street , animal , marco and nite scenary, I'm still learning but I prefer to invest a bit so it can last for a few years. Will appreicate if anyone could advice the mentioned items is sufficient? any comment are welcome.

Last edited:
7D is full frame or not a full frame ?

Can anyone suggest a good quality 3rd party 1.4x or 2x teleconverter I could use with my Canon 75-300 USM zoom lens? Thank you

Hi,

I'm considering getting a Canon 550D as my first DSLR to start out with but am unsure about which kit/lens I should go for.

I was initially considering Kit I with the 18-55mm lens, but after checking out some of the recommended shops, I'm now considering Kit II instead since it has a longer reach.
But I've also been recommended to get the body with a Tamron 18-200mm lens instead.
Another possibility is the Kit I + EF-S55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS but I'm not sure if the wider aperture size would make a big difference? This last kit was suggested by a friend who is in Japan, but I'm not sure if the Canon DSLRs in Japan are any different from those sold in SG as they are under different names (KISS X4 in Japan vs EOS 550D in SG)?

Thanks in advance!

Cross posting from another thread because I thought this might be a better place to post my query.

I'm actually thinking of getting the EOS60D as a starter into DSLR.. budget constraints leh..

But was considering between EOS 60D KIT (EF S18-55) or (EF 18-135mm). Which would be a better choice? I assume 18-135mm isn't really a strictly telephoto zoom lens right?

As I like to capture shots sometimes from a distance, was also considering this telephoto zoom lens EF70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM. Is this wise?

Any expert to help on this?