can dynax5 take infra-red photography?

Aton said:
Ileaf, even $600+ is quite a good deal with the lens. I remember I bought this lens also 4 years ago at Mustafa...
hah hah, yup Mustafa at $500.

IMHO, the grip adds weight and balance with the body man.... :thumbsup:

This lens is taken over by 24-105 (D) liao lah so you decide wisely loh...I tell you....I'll buy the 24-85 anytime over the 28-105 man...it's superb man... :thumbsup:

vader said:
hahah, "bedok north" bak cho mee lah.....but.....I kena once got baby cockroachs before !! I'm dead serious man, Gits can be the witness......damm, business too good to take care of hygiene !!

so now I no eat bak cho mee, I like porridge and sting ray there....yum yum !! :D

I'm also living in bedok north!! Must be something in the water in bedok that "breeds" so many minoltians. Got noodle session next time must jio me.....i wanna tap your brains and learn more abt photography!

I no stay in bedok, but can also jio me for supper/makan. ;p

reactan said:
I'm also living in bedok north!! Must be something in the water in bedok that "breeds" so many minoltians. Got noodle session next time must jio me.....i wanna tap your brains and learn more abt photography!

yes yes !! I mean the food lah........ :bsmilie: no problems lah, we can exchange pointers mah....see see each others' photos also can....

BTW, forbytes and me did something today....we tape up the IR sensor on my dynax 7 and load a film in.... :D

OT Mode on:

Wah~! So all those living in the Bedok area are Kex's regulars issit?

OT Mode off

The_Cheat said:
OT Mode on:

Wah~! So all those living in the Bedok area are Kex's regulars issit?

OT Mode off

O.T. alert.....

I pass by Kex's place every morning leh...Sometimes I pop by to chat with him about cameras.....sometimes lim kopi with him lah... :bsmilie:

vader said:
Lao Shi.....films camera and digital are not the same....

Ileaf.....FYI, almost pro specs camera like 700si can do IR photography...there is one unit in TCW with 28-105 f 3.5-4.5 lens...price not bad leh.... ;)

I was referring to the Dimage 7 post that could take IR shots. Just to caution that not all digicams can do it altho theoretically the CCD should be able to detect the IR region.

But yeah for film SLR why not, as long as it can take IR film I guess.... but this DX coding thing is new to me.... like a very dumb reason leh.... why?!?!

ileaf said:
btw, what IR filter did u use on Dimage 7? maybe i can try taking one using my fujifilm.

Was using this cheapo Hoya IR filter. Cost me about $32 from CP.
Anyway, I heard that for Minolta prosumer cams, DiMAGE 5 and 7 were the only ones that were able to shoot with IR. The later series like 7hi, 7i, A1 and A2 were not capable to capture IR images. Couldn't say for sure how true this rumour is though...

There are quite a number of ClubSNAPpers who were using Canon 300D to shoot IR in colour! Those shots are really superb! Can't do that for the DiMAGE 7 though... :cry:

TME said:
But yeah for film SLR why not, as long as it can take IR film I guess.... but this DX coding thing is new to me.... like a very dumb reason leh.... why?!?!

That's pretty new to me too... Read from magazines that most camera could use IR film as long as there's no light-leak lor. Hmm... so dynax 5 absolutely cannot use IR film huh? Anyone tried it before? :dunno:

TME said:
Or a digital camera with the IR portion of the CCD enabled.... so far only SONY digicams are able to do it with little mod to the camera via software I think.... others is a hit and miss affair.... I'm not holding my breath for the 7D to be able to do IR...

Oooh! Sony prosumer cam with Sony IR filter!! Nice... :D

If you get a hand on those, make sure you shoot more nice ladies in pure cotton clothes, yar? :bsmilie:

vader said:
yes yes !! I mean the food lah........ :bsmilie: no problems lah, we can exchange pointers mah....see see each others' photos also can....

BTW, forbytes and me did something today....we tape up the IR sensor on my dynax 7 and load a film in.... :D

er, sorry but which part of the camera is IR sensor?
let me know if it doesn't have light leaking in.
maybe i can try on my humber dynax 5! ;p

Aton said:
Sure....btw u meant the one at bedok north blk 85 bak cho mee or there's another at bedok south blk 58 market.

I tot u meant 2nd hand hard to find, then if grip spoil....haizz.

Ileaf, even $600+ is quite a good deal with the lens. I remember I bought this lens also 4 years ago at Mustafa...
hah hah, yup Mustafa at $500.

hi aton, thks for that.
hm, for that price, i'd rather invest on a classic mechanical camera, (sorry but my dream one is a FM3A :blah: )
with that, maybe i can keep for my grandchildren! and win a "oldest" camera in singapore 50yrs later! hahahaha

Haha... tape up the IR sensor only make the camera cannot load film....If you wanna try.... try ilford sfx film, it's near IR.....not so difficult to wash but go get the deapest red filters you can find man and add a cir-pl filter on....

I think from what was posted above, the light leaks through the viewfinder. And for the later cameras I think vader mentioned that the DX detection method in the non pro series of SLRs use an IR source to detect the film, so that precludes the use of IR film as the IR source will damage the film before it is exposed.

Taping the film window is a small matter. taping the IR sensor and you get zero loading. the IR sensor actually count sprocket holes man.....about 8 holes to a frame....

viewfinder will not leak light to the film....