Billingham, Domke, etc etc

purely psychological right?

I just love the timeless design of billingham bag ... i dont know about the rest but to me its more then just a bag itself , it has its own unique characteristic as its hand made and comes with leather trim its like the bag will grow/aged together with you if you get what i mean , most of all it doesn't really looks like a camera bag .

some ppl love how it looks while some just hate it , and for those who doesn't like to stick with the mess this are actually the choice for them ;p pretty good investment too

what if u get caught in the rain?

Stormblock Canvas :thumbsup:

get a bag that suits your needs.
never let a bag unleash another bout of BBB virus ;)

I bought a Domke J1 second hand from a previous user who had it for close to 5 years I think. The fabric is holding up very well, it's lost its shape a little, but it's still a solid bag that carries everything I can possibly throw into it that I need for an assignment.

what if u get caught in the rain?

wa, first time someone ask me such a qn. i always get caught in the rain and i dun use a brolly. i prefer my rainjacket and my billingham is waterproof. it is sweeswee and everything is fine, nothing gets wet inside.

and i dun bother taking care of my bags.

i think there's a difference esp. when u're using either a Domke or a Billingham. they are expensive but they lasts. of cos, lowepro lasts too. but Domke and Billingham are jus different and in a class of their own. :bsmilie:

I just love the timeless design of billingham bag ... i dont know about the rest but to me its more then just a bag itself , it has its own unique characteristic as its hand made and comes with leather trim its like the bag will grow/aged together with you if you get what i mean , most of all it doesn't really looks like a camera bag .

some ppl love how it looks while some just hate it , and for those who doesn't like to stick with the mess this are actually the choice for them ;p pretty good investment too

Stormblock Canvas :thumbsup:

waseh, spoken like a true seasoned pro. :thumbsup:

Domke n Billingham are jus too sweeswee in design.

waseh, spoken like a true seasoned pro. :thumbsup:

Domke n Billingham are jus too sweeswee in design.

Sadly, some Taxi driver noted I was a photographer, just by my Domke alone. :o

y sad? they charge u more meh. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

ah boy ah, le hip siong ah? jing woo lui ah! :bsmilie:

maybe the taxi driver is a photographer himself? :think:
but any bigger than normal sling bag/backpack usually attracts more attention.. no doubt about that.

y sad? they charge u more meh. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

ah boy ah, le hip siong ah? jing woo lui ah! :bsmilie:

wa bo lui ah!

I'm not hokkien man. Don't really understand. Haha.

I always had the impression that Billingham/Domke tends to be more of a stealth bag than Lowepro's "Stealth Reporter" series. Incidentally, I always had this impression that Lowepro's Stealth Reporter series sorta screams,
"I AM A CAMERA BAG!"

wa bo lui ah!

I'm not hokkien man. Don't really understand. Haha.

I always had the impression that Billingham/Domke tends to be more of a stealth bag than Lowepro's "Stealth Reporter" series. Incidentally, I always had this impression that Lowepro's Stealth Reporter series sorta screams,
"I AM A CAMERA BAG!"

hmmm
i think to the lay person on the street, yeaps, they might not know.

but i always tot tat a crumpler has much more 'stealth' then compared to the rest, say Domke, Lowepro or Billingham.

students use crumplers, some young execs too... and it is much more common than lowepro, billingham and domke as it is carried by ppl across all profession thus, i would say that the 'stealth' is there with the masses.

wow. seems like domke & billingham users swear by it. i see uk sell how much first. :D

of cos la. spend so much $$ dun say good, how can???

mux drag other innocent ppl into the pithole too mah. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

of cos la. spend so much $$ dun say good, how can???

mux drag other innocent ppl into the pithole too mah. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

ermm ... ok ... its worth it if really can provide the mileage. now i thinking of the size i shld get. and deciding between domke and billingham.

hmmm
i think to the lay person on the street, yeaps, they might not know.

but i always tot tat a crumpler has much more 'stealth' then compared to the rest, say Domke, Lowepro or Billingham.

students use crumplers, some young execs too... and it is much more common than lowepro, billingham and domke as it is carried by ppl across all profession thus, i would say that the 'stealth' is there with the masses.

Agreed. I use both Crumpler and Domke. So far, no one has realised my Crumpler is a camera bag until
i) I open the bag
ii) I tell them it's a camera bag.

Furthermore, the profile of my bag (6mil) is very similar to a range of laptop shoulder bags that Crumpler produces. Of course, a user will be able to tell other users apart from the masses, and I've often spotted other "stealthy lurkers" carrying Crumpler camera bags. No one gives them a second look, and they look like a typical student.

Agreed. I use both Crumpler and Domke. So far, no one has realised my Crumpler is a camera bag until
i) I open the bag
ii) I tell them it's a camera bag.

Furthermore, the profile of my bag (6mil) is very similar to a range of laptop shoulder bags that Crumpler produces. Of course, a user will be able to tell other users apart from the masses, and I've often spotted other "stealthy lurkers" carrying Crumpler camera bags. No one gives them a second look, and they look like a typical student.

yeaps, i used to own a crumpler(way back!) but it looks really... kiddish on an uncle like me. :cry: can't help it, age caught up with me. :bsmilie: ppl gif u strange looks maybe becos my crumpler is kinda loud in the colors n quite huge.

malu la.

but crumpler is quite rugged and the interior of the bag is damn shiok and solid.

a pity i m too uncle for the bag. :bsmilie:

yeaps, i used to own a crumpler(way back!) but it looks really... kiddish on an uncle like me. :cry: can't help it, age caught up with me. :bsmilie: ppl gif u strange looks maybe becos my crumpler is kinda loud in the colors n quite huge.

malu la.

but crumpler is quite rugged and the interior of the bag is damn shiok and solid.

a pity i m too uncle for the bag. :bsmilie:

i dun think i am as old as u but crumpler looks way off on me as well.

i'm uncle level liao la but i'm not that old la. jus that crumpler... ... :sweat:

its good but its too ././. 'young', as much as i dun wanna admit it but... i really look like a dingdong with that bag around me. :bsmilie:

i'm uncle level liao la but i'm not that old la. jus that crumpler... ... :sweat:

its good but its too ././. 'young', as much as i dun wanna admit it but... i really look like a dingdong with that bag around me. :bsmilie:

i am definitely younger than u but crumpler is very kiddish to me. ppl say billingham look like women handbag. :angry:

A good tradeoff IMHO would be to get the more subdued black version of the Crumpler shoulder bags, that will give you the stealth of a Crumpler, without the loud colours.

Uhm, but if I saw a sixtysomething year old uncle carrying a Crumpler, I would still do a double take (and probably take a photo of the sight).