Beer Can Dilemma....

jsbn

A very tempting offer comes in the form of the beer can in B&S....

Unfortunately, I'm taking so much landscapes these dayz that a need for a telephoto dimishes by the day.

Very undecided on whether wanna get the beer can or not. Hanging in the mid-air balancing, can u guyz give me a kick to drop in either direction? The feeling's not very good. :sweat:

That have to ask yourself, whether you need the lens or not?
What lens do you have in your arsenal and what do you like to shoot? Which field you like to get involve more?

*Oummmm*

Need.... want.... need.... want.....

it f4 constant and sharp at wide too
good for portrait and fashion events
i already had a sigma f2.8-3.5 75-200mm
now just wonder which is sharper

eow said:
That's why I was wondering why you still bidding for that?:dunno: So you like to choose between the 2, but I thought you have try it before?
The thing that I don't like about the beer can is, it's a bit slow in focusing.

it lighter and the twist-turn barrel is easier to control compared to the sigma push-pull and heavier weight

eow said:
it lighter and the twist-turn barrel is easier to control compared to the sigma push-pull and heavier weight
Well, I guess f/3.5 and f/4.0 don't make a lot of difference indeed. but beer can is not that light also :sweat:

eow said:
Sigh.... I guess that's it. Its confirmed, eow u can go ahead with ur bid on that B&S Beer Can.

I'll save up further for a good wide angle.
Here comes the BBB... Any good wide angles to recommend?

zcf said:
Well, I guess f/3.5 and f/4.0 don't make a lot of difference indeed. but beer can is not that light also :sweat:
Had handle both..the sigma is heavier
some shots taken with the sigma
it make a good portrait lens too
PICT3299c.jpg

PICT3126c.jpg

PICT3234c.jpg

jsbn said:
Sigh.... I guess that's it. Its confirmed, eow u can go ahead with ur bid on that B&S Beer Can.

I'll save up further for a good wide angle.
Here comes the BBB... Any good wide angles to recommend?
Tks for yr generosity but otoh for me it nice to have the f/4 lens but not a must
dun worry if u/others want to bid it ok for me

Hiee....

My inputs.....

I got the Beer Can from KEH ....previously loved it and around the same time.....i got hold of the 80-200APO G Black. Then thought ...well why keep the 70-210f4.....

Well...sold it off to one of our fella MKM users. Used the 80-200 lot and now realised that its kinda heavy for travel and need a replacement that will buy me confident of sharp pics at a little scaled down weight....but not forgoing the sharpness...

Guess what...i reently received another minty piece of the 70-210f4 from ebay. Rekindling the love of it.....its now a back-up for my 80-200.

Heavy?....well...i guess its not too bad ......still lighter than the 80-200. Its sharpness is almost on par with the 80-200 at f4 and at f8 onwards....no one could probably tell...them apart...as they almost similar...

If i have the $$...i would grab the one Agetan is letting go....

rgds,
sulhan

I feel the weight of 80-200 also :sweat: , don't think I will bring it for travel.
That's why still looking for 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 APO.

Now I have 3x 70-210 f4, but keeping one for myself.

So 2 is for sale.

I am more like sulhan, I got the 80-200 f2.8 APO, but keeping f4 for backup and travelling lens. Not exactly light, but image quality is very good.

Get it while it is available.

Hart

aiya, money no enough, sian.

zcf said:
you also interested? :o
so cheap, of course interested. see how. i already have a lens from Hart.

Travelling.... the last time I looked like I was having a route march. 12kg backpack, 1.5kg tripod, 800g neckslung KM5D w/flash.... I'd certainly like a longer lens but I'm not sure if I can live with the weight.... :think:

only two cons
1. slow AF, will lose some good opportunity, anyway, it is old lens liao. waiting for new version and suitable for DSLR.

2. Bokeh still not perfect in some occasions. quite same as sigma

KM will anounce new DSLR and lenses soon at the end of Feb 2006, let's wait lah...

Fishking said:
only two cons
1. slow AF, will lose some good opportunity, anyway, it is old lens liao. waiting for new version and suitable for DSLR.

2. Bokeh still not perfect in some occasions. quite same as sigma

KM will anounce new DSLR and lenses soon at the end of Feb 2006, let's wait lah...
new lens cost more mah :bsmilie: