AF-Nikkor 70-300mm ED

Originally posted by giddygoat
thanks for the input. agree the focus is a little slow. oso the aperture is rather small.
but then, i still studying leh. the 70-300mm is already a major stretch on my finances:cry:. 80-200 f/2.8 is a little far off for me now.
anyway, was keen on the extra range since i like to take animals shots. oso, i need something light cos i usually go out from school so have to carry the camera bag and my school bag.
agree with you cyeo. was hoping to buy it second hand but wait so long nobody want to sell. got too itchy.... :dunno:

Go check out TCW...they might have it... I saw it there a couple of times already...

Hi. Just my thought.

If you look at the Nikon lens catalogue. You will find that there is a similar 70-300 G lens. The suppose "lousier" lens. The 4 noticable points difference in the catalogue between this 2 "70-300" lens is :

1) The ED element in the "better" one. Just one ED element in the middle. Just one.

2) The "better" one has the aperture ring.

3) The "better" one has better appearance.

4) Weight, by 80g. "better" one heavier.

Beside this 4 points, the rest are the same. Dimension, no.of groups and elements, filter size.

I don't know the difference in price. So maybe you should check out both and justify if the difference in price is justifiable. I didn't say which one is better, but instead is the difference in price justified against the difference in the 2 lens.

Hope this helps.

Actually i bought it already:D
then only i saw someone selling the G version on the buy-sell:(
bought for 580. i think the G version is almost half the price. dunno, actually there's probably not much difference but i guess i just kiasu. ED glass, mah.
will be going to ubin this weekend. hope to put it to good use:gbounce:

OK lor. Since you have already buy it. then no point finding out the difference liao. Should have see your post earlier then can let you know. Anyway. Just enjoy shooting with the lens. The best way to make the lens worthworth. :) Agree? :D

Forget to tell you. You need a tripod if shooting under those trees of Ubin. :) at full tele. Unless under the bright sun. Another way is to use high ISO film to avoid the tripod. Maybe can.

dun intend to bring tripod to ubin. too many things to carry. the lense is quite light so hopefully can hold steady during daylight. but nightshots, definitely need tripod.
anyway, i guess it's the person that matters. not so much the lense. as long as you get a halfway decent lense and use it well. i'm just starting out, so i think 80-200 f2.8 would just make me the best equiped amateur but really i don't think i can do it justice.
thanks.:gbounce: :gbounce:

Hee Hee. For your info. I own the "g" young brother of your 70-300. :P So totally agree with "i guess it's the person that matters. not so much the lense. as long as you get a halfway decent lense and use it well". :P