7Hi and CF unable to use card error msg

TopGun

Hi, i just got myself a unit of 7Hi. I tried using a IProc 128mb cf card and a 8mb cf card on the cam. Unfortunately, i receive a "unable to use card" error message from the cam.

Both CF were previously formatted on a A40. I tried connecting the CF via a CF reader and format under winxp but to no use.

Is there anyway of 'resetting' the CF to a unformatted state so i could use it wif my cam? Any programs out there?

Can you format the card using the camera?

Also try to see if you can upgrade the firmware of the camera.
The newer firmware is known to less problems with cards.

frisky said:
Can you format the card using the camera?

Also try to see if you can upgrade the firmware of the camera.
The newer firmware is known to less problems with cards.

The firmware is already upgraded to the latest.

I am unable to format on the camera itself as the camera does not allow me to access the format command at all.

The cam was working fine with a ridata 256mb eariler in the day.

According to the manual, the "unable to use card" error message means that the camera is incompatiable with the CF. Are there any potential compatiability issues which i should take note of?

I have read somewhere in the Minolta forum at dpreview.com of compatibility problems between the 7hi and Transcend 256MB 30x CF card. Comments have been positive, however, for the 25x version.

Just this week, I came across a posting on the probable reasons for the incompatibility. Do a search there and most likely your questions would be answered.

You may wish to visit this webpage: http://webpages.charter.net/bbiggers/DCExperiments/html/dimage_flash_card_speeds.html for additional information on the speed of various CF cards used with the 7hi (the information can be found near the end of the page).

Hello, can I try to solve your problem??visit me @ funan.i may be right or wrong about that step....

andylee said:
Hello, can I try to solve your problem??visit me @ funan.i may be right or wrong about that step....

Hi. This is what had happened over the last few days.

The Iproc was formatted with care in FAT format. I even tried formatting in dos mode. Format O: /FS:FAT
Unfortunately, the card refuse to work with the 7hi

I went out to buy a transcend 512mb 30x. I tested on the spot and ensured that the batch number is after 74787. Eariler batches were known for slow write speed. The transcend works beautifully. A RAW image took approx 12s to write wif the transcend.

Understand u work at minolta, is the petal lens hood for sale? Cos i misplaced mine. :D

Hi Hi, reserve for you loh, the hood.i think i know wat's wrong liao.you format it on your pc??tat's why.....cum lah....

Hi Hi,

To day i met a guy using transcend 512mb 40 something X card. His problem is that when he try to up-load his pics to his pc running win XP, the pc will tell him that his card is not format & ask him if he wanna format. :o when he visit me, i use my laptop running win XP Pro & try to up-load.hey, it's able to!!

Still trying to find out what's the cause of this bug.....camera problem??card problem?? or Computer problem??I'm not sure if his XP is home or pro.......... :dunno:

What card reader is he using? That might be a possible cause.

andylee said:
Hi Hi,

To day i met a guy using transcend 512mb 40 something X card. His problem is that when he try to up-load his pics to his pc running win XP, the pc will tell him that his card is not format & ask him if he wanna format. :o when he visit me, i use my laptop running win XP Pro & try to up-load.hey, it's able to!!

Still trying to find out what's the cause of this bug.....camera problem??card problem?? or Computer problem??I'm not sure if his XP is home or pro.......... :dunno:

Hi, i am using a Active Hot 6 Reader.

I encounter that problem intermittently.

Mine is a transcend 30x card. To avoid this problem, i would have the plug in the reader into the pc without the cf. Only after then i plug in the cf into the reader. This way i would avoid the problem most of the time >90%

I wonder if it is because the card is formatted by the minolta. I do not encounter such problem with the Iproc formatted by A40 or winxp. But of course i dare not format the transcend under xp to tru hehe

Man, Tat time was covering the Minolta XT chalie angle charity gala,got home to edit the pics.bang!!got this problem.lucky never format on pc ah.if not my head will roll to the 1st floor of funan it mall.... ;p

Me using scandisk card reader leh, then switch over to some taiwan stuff then ok. :D

I had problem with a lexar card too. X-drive won't read it reliably,
but both my 7hi and another P&S can read/write to it fine.....

Seems that such card compatibility problem are quite common.

Bottom line is that better use something you know will work for
important shoots......