10X optical zoom vs Super Macro

kthan

I was thinking whether to upgrade my C-3040 for my wife and it hit me ....Upgrade to what? While C-5050 is the camera of choice currently, I was wondering if the likes of C740, C-750 would be better with their 10X optical zoom? Afterall, it does give u greater working distance, rite?

So anyone who has experience or access to both cams, could you share your thots on this : 10X optical zoom vs Super Macro.

I'd appreciate this discussion be kept to the tpoic above becos if we were to bring in other aspects of the camera, there would be no end ;)

Eric

something that i have thought of before too. you are getting the camera for underwater? IMHO i would think the feature SuperMacro would come in more useful than 10X optical zoom. you can zoom in on your subject when it is very far away with 10X optical zoom,but the subject would still appear bluish and greenish ... with your photography experience, i am quite sure you would agree that you do not need 10x optical zoom uw, instead supermacro for critters is much more beneficial... :)

Let me try to get a jab at this,

First off, i would concur with beivied on her view point, zooming in from a distant area to capture a diffucult shot *MAY* be permissive; but then the function/question of strobe power would come into play, enough strobe power and distance for coverage? Unless of course you would prefer to dabble in ambient light photography, from quite a distance away.

None the less supermacro mode will be good for smaller critters like shrimps, spider crabs and stuff, mainly sedentary critters that do not move alot.

On the contrary, having 10X optical zoom might be good if you want to get those potraits of harlequin sweetlips, angle fishes etc, since having only 3x zoom such opportunities would be hampered. Never the less, i would prefer to have a strong zoom for vigorous critters, mainly fish portraits, extremely shy rock cods.

One main thing to consider is the auto-focusing speed of both cameras?? :dunno: , i have not dabbled in the C750 (i'm using C5050) thus i wouldn't be qualified to comment on that, since i was used to the focusing speed of a 90x, it would beat consumer cams hand's down, also on this topic, having fast auto-focus cameras complimented the presence/if not warranted the purchase of a zoom lense, for the elusive shots. Thus coming back to the point of having a hefty zoom/fast auto-focusing system.

None the less, *MY* for shooting style, i would prefer to have the ability of using Smacro mode, purely for the sedentary/tiny critters

hope that helped :D

Anyway good topic to discuss on, would love to see everyone's views on this :thumbsup:

OT a bit.. waisj! your eyes are getting smaller by the day! <<< your avatar :bsmilie:

10x zoom is a lo leh. strobe power still can reach till there ma? would kthan mind me asking this here? :embrass:

but of course, if you dun have supermacro mode, you can alway get the macro lens. no problem at all. but you cannot get a 3x teleconverter. i think...

beivied said:
OT a bit.. waisj! your eyes are getting smaller by the day! <<< your avatar :bsmilie:

10x zoom is a lo leh. strobe power still can reach till there ma? would kthan mind me asking this here? :embrass:

but of course, if you dun have supermacro mode, you can alway get the macro lens. no problem at all. but you cannot get a 3x teleconverter. i think...

Well in faith of fruitful discussion , i guess he wouldn't mind.
Here goes, Techinically speaking as long as your subject is within 1~1.5 meters awaya from you, having a strobe *SHOULD* be able to eluminate your subject within that particular distance. None the less the Extra zoom will double up as a more powerful magnification, but i am not sure about the minimal focussion distance of the C750. That might be something goondo could shed some light on.

If i dont remember wrongly, the C5050 has a minimal focusing distance of 8 inches.

Hope that helped.

Zoom at 10x kinda hard to hold that still wor..

i think megaweb got one article on c750.
it was my choice before the c5050..

but in the end i decided on a c5050 for the Smarco over the 10x zoom.

my hands never stable enough to snap at 10x zoom and im too lazy to carry a tripod :P

Hi Eric,

IMHO as below..

Supermacro/macro mode in digital cam is the min focusing distance of the cam . It has nothing to do with magnification. It so call "magnification" is nearer.. sure bigger lah..

If you need magnification, most will need a macro lens. The Macro len allows you to reduce yr min focusing distance and magnifies yr subject. Most macro lens has 2 time magnification. If u need to shoot pigmy seahorse, some use 2 macro lens.

C-5050 SM min focusing distance is 2 cm whereas C-750 SM is 3cm.

For someone without strobe,
To shoot C-5050 SM bet 20-2cm away (the internal strobe will be block by the housing)

and

to shoot C-750 Macro at 20cm with 10 X optical Zoom with internal strobe

My choice will be C-750.

Attached is the link showing the Inon in-housing professional photographer shooting with a C-750. All photos are shot without strobe

http://homepage3.nifty.com/studio446/photo/C750/ph_750_01.htm

Cheer

Mc

btw : why didnt u ask me that day. Then I wldn't need to write the above thesis to explain to u.

Lanyang Langyang....can consider...let me know the pricing in private. Thanks

The reason I was thinking of a 10X zoom is becos of the working distance. Shooting with strobe should be able to compensate the high f-stop and shutter speed chosen for macro.

For film housing, people coupled a 105mm nacro with a 2x converter if need be. So a 10X is equivalent to 300mm??!! I was thinking along these lines. Super macro still does not give you the required working distance for evasive subjects.

If you have a 3X zoom and coupled with a 2X macro lens, u get 6X rite? So 10X will be ;p

Great for on land too, but let's keep this to underwater

Eric

Guess in all the discussion , we have eluded the most trivial question regarding KTHAN's setup, :embrass: ..............

Is the camera/housing, going to be used with external strobes? guess this is important in determining the need for strobe coverage and lighting, or as what photosmart has mentioned by just using internal strobes.

Guess you all already know the "throw" or covergae of internal vs external strobes, as we do not need to discuss that further.

None the less, i do know KTHAN has counting........ :think: 4 strobes already? thus my views were purely oriented towards the camera being used with external strobes. Thus the reasoning *might* have mislead forum members.

or whether KTHAN expects to get macro or wides in the future, will be of good knowledge for us/other forum members as well when purchasing camera/housing.

Personaly, i do agree with Photosmart regarding the analogy of Smacro in 5050z and 10X optical on C750uz with internal strobes. I have personaly have *quite* satisfactory photographs on Smacro with internal strobe only, partially due to the fact that i am using an IKELITE housing; the blockage is still acceptable to my standards. :embrass:

Hope that helped

Photosmart, this question arises when I was thinking about buying a PT-010 and macro lens for my current setup, or chaging it completely. But just a thot lah. My better half may not dive for quite some time. Well, if the hubby wants to play, someone has to bring in the dough , rite? :bsmilie:

Think I prefer the 10X zoom, but as Waisj has mentioned, got to try out the zoom underwater to see the focusing speed and accuracy, or Goondoo can give us his views here. Hope i get the gender rite.

kthan said:
Photosmart, this question arises when I was thinking about buying a PT-010 and macro lens for my current setup, or chaging it completely. But just a thot lah. My better half may not dive for quite some time. Well, if the hubby wants to play, someone has to bring in the dough , rite? :bsmilie:

Think I prefer the 10X zoom, but as Waisj has mentioned, got to try out the zoom underwater to see the focusing speed and accuracy, or Goondoo can give us his views here. Hope i get the gender rite.

Huh? I'm a photo newbie... don't expect any think "chim" from me.
I think basically its quite up to individual which they like. However, it seems interesting that no one mentions about C-750 having S-Macro mode too(3 cm i think, or is it 3 inch?)... BUT, the S-Macro mode for C-750 doesn't support slave flash like C5050 did.
C5050 seems to have a brighter lens than C750, focus speed and accuracy I cant comment.... maybe I bring out next time, u guys see lor....

Goondoo said:
Huh? I'm a photo newbie... don't expect any think "chim" from me.
I think basically its quite up to individual which they like. However, it seems interesting that no one mentions about C-750 having S-Macro mode too(3 cm i think, or is it 3 inch?)... BUT, the S-Macro mode for C-750 doesn't support slave flash like C5050 did.
C5050 seems to have a brighter lens than C750, focus speed and accuracy I cant comment.... maybe I bring out next time, u guys see lor....

good on you!!!

c ya next seed